Magnificent Muniandy

FORMER national long distance runner R. Mu-niandy made a successful comeback to athletics after a three-year lay off by winning two gold medals and rewriting a meet record in the 53rd Kedah Open athletics meet at the Daru-laman Stadium in Alor Star recently. 

On the opening day, he won the 5,000m in 15:16.66, which was 14.46s off his previous best and in the process, beat second placed Rubarn Kumar by more than a lap. 

Muniandy followed it up with a record on the second day by cracking the 10,000m record in 32:00.50, shaving off 15.51s of his own state record established in 1997. 

For his two-gold feat, Muniandy earned the best male athlete award in the meet. 

A nagging Achilles tendon injury had caused the 27-year-old to skip the state meet for the past three years. 

“It has been really frustrating for me as I have been hindered by injury since 2002 and this has hampered my ambition to win a medal at the Sea Games. 

“After my debut at the Brunei Sea Games in 1999, I missed out the 2001 and 2003 Games due to injuries,” said Muniandy. 

“I am now almost back to my old form and this is my best performance since 1995 when I set the Kedah state record in the 5,000m .” 

Muniandy has been preparing himself by competing regularly in road races such as Bendang Run (half marathon) and Sintok Run (12km). 

He established the state 5,000m record (15:02.20s) in 1995 in Ipoh and the 10,000m record (32:16.01s) in 1997 in the National Junior championships in Kluang. 

“After missing out two successive SEA Games, I want to make a strong bid to qualify for the Manila Games this year. 

“The qualifying marks are quite tough to beat (14:20.00 for 5,000m and 29:40.00 for 10,000m). It may be way off my personal best times but this factor is not going to discourage me, “ he said. 

Meanwhile, Perak's S. Kala-pana was the outstanding fe-male athlete in the Kedah Open 2005.  

She rewrote the women's 5,000m meet record. 

Kalapana won the event in 20:26.76 to better the old mark of 21:00.35, which was held by Ooi Yen Nen since 2001. 


100m: 1. Mohd Zabidi Ghazali (Ter) 10.64, 2. Mohd Aliff (Pen) 10.66, 3. Zabidi Ahmad (Ter) 10.84. 

200m: 1. Mohd Aliff (Pen) 21.82, 2. Zabidi Ghazali (Ter) 21.92, 3. Zabidi Ahmad (Ter) 22.52. 

400m: 1. Idris Zakaria (Ter) 51.75, 2. Prakash Kesavan (Pen) 51.97, 3. Saiful Anwar (Prk) 52.45. 

800m: 1. S. Puviarasan (Ked) 1:59.16, 2. Mohd Zulkifli Wahab (Ter) 2:02.4, 3. S. Isyaran (Matsushita) 2:08.45. 

1,500m: 1. Mohd Zulkifli Wa-hab (Ter) 4:19.80, 2. Kartik Ragu (Ked) 4:38.69, 3. P. Yogaraj (Ked) 4:45.22. 

5,000m: 1. R. Muniandy (Ked) 15:16.66, 2. Rubarn Kumar (Ked) 16:47.40, 3. Mohd Kamal Izwan (Ter) 17:20.21. 

10,000m: 1. R. Muniandy (Ked) 32:00.50 rec (old record: 32:16.01), 2. Rubarn Kumar (Ked) 34:40.00, 3. P. Purusothman (Ked) 38:08.01. 

400m hurdles: 1. Norhafif Aziz (SMK Mergong) 58.50, 2. Moha-wadie Mohamad (Ter) 63.88, 3. R. Debek (Ked) 64.36. 

3,000m steeplechase: 1. M. Ravinteran (Ked) 10:16.50, 2. Rubarn Kumar (Ked) 10:29.36, 3. Kamarul Izwan (Ter) 10:50.20. 

10,000m walk: 1. L. Mathivanan (Ked) 56:55.00, 2. M. Muniandy (Ked) 62:17.05, 3. U. Masuthan (Prk) 65:43.00. 

4x400m: 1. Penang 3:33.17, 2. Terengganu 3:34.18, 3. SMK Mer-gong 3:35.44. 

High Jump: 1. Mohd Izwan Salim (Ked) 1.65m, 2. Michael Jeffrin (Ked) 1.60m, 3. Lee Shi Zhang (SMK St Michael) 1.60m. 

Triple jump: 1. Hazwan Izzani (SMK Tunku Anum) 14.64m, 2. Ammar Fitri (SMK Tunku Anum) 13.75m, 3. Aminikram Razak (Pen) 13.65m. 

Shot Putt: 1. Adi Aliffudin Hussin (Ter) 13.39m, 2. Mohd Nazri (Prisons) 10.94m, 3. Faizol Ghazali (SMK Tajar) 10.53m.  

Discus: 1. Anuar Yusof (SMK Mergong) 27.89m, 2. Shaharul Anuar Yahya (Ked) 24.51m, 3. Paul Kendy (Ked) 22.85m. 

Javelin: 1. Mohd Hafizol Ghazali (SMK Tunku Anom) 47.53m, 2. Shahrul Anuar Yahya (Ked) 46.65m,3. Sharkawi Shurin (Prk) 45.66m. 


100m: 1. Nurul Eftihah (Prk) 12.80, 2. Nursiha Azreen (Pen) 12.85, 3. Liang Yoke Fun (Pen) 12.94. 

200m: 1. Nurul Effihah (Prk) 26.11, 2. Liang Yoke Fun (Pen) 26.22, 3. Norshila Idris (SMK Pendang) 26.97. 

400m: 1. Liang Yoke Fun (Pen) 61.39, 2. Norisah Kassim (Ter) 61.44, 3. Nurul Faizah Mazlan (Ter) 62.25. 

800m: 1. Norisham Kassim (Ter) 2:34.37, 2. Nurul Husni Muwaaz (SMK Tunku Anum) 2:51.81, 3. Suria Uslap (Ked) 2:55.42. 

1,500m: 1. S. Logeswary (Prk) 5:20.01, 2. Melinda Kaur (Pen) 5:30.25, 3. Amelia Musa (Ked) 6:00.56. 

5,000m: 1. S. Kalapana (Prk) 20:26.76 rec (old record: 21:00.35), 2. Melinda Kaur (Pen) 20:53.20, 3. L. Mugambigai (Ked) 24:19.60. 

100m hurdles: 1. Siti Faridah Ismail (SMK Mergong) 18.18, 2. Zuraidah Ghazali (SMK Pendang) 19.50, 3. Norhazira Mohamad (SMK Pendang) 21.56. 

400m hurdles: 1. Azura Ahmad (Ter) 72.88, 2. Masmurni Abdullah (SMK Tunku Anum) 80.13, 3. Siti Khatijah (Ked) 80.96. 

5,000m walk: 1. Jacqualine (Ked) 36:30.00, 2. Nur Hazida Rahim (SMK Pendang) 37:08.00, 3. Mugambigai (Ked) 40:44.83. 

4x400m: 1. Terengganu 4:24.52, 2. SMK Mergong 4:36.37, 3. Kedah Selatan 5:01.08. 

Long jump: 1. Mazlina Zainal (Pen) 5.00m, 2. Sharifah Zahidah Ali (SMK Tunku Anum) 4.94m, 3. Norizan Zawawi (Prk) 4.89m. 

Triple jump: 1. Nirizan Za- wawi (Prk) 10.66m, 2. Nurul Husna Bakar (SMK Tunku Anum) 9.94m, 3. Fatimatul Zaharah Awang (SMK Tunku Anum) 9.91m. 

Javelin: 1. Nadzirah Che Amat (SMK Tunku Anum) 35.29m, 2. G. Amuthamalar (Ked) 27.70m, 3. Tan Jie Ying (Ked) 20.98m.  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy