10 awarded for excellence in their respective fields

  • Community
  • Monday, 28 Nov 2016

Soon Koh (centre) with all the winners of the TOYM.

SIBU: Award-winning Malaysian singer, actress, composer, chef, host, model, beauty queen and also entrepreneur Soo Wincci has added another feather to her cap. She was among the winners for this year’s JCI Ten Outstanding Young Malaysian (TOYM) Awards.

Soo, who was crowned Miss World Malaysia 2008 and represented Malaysia in the Miss World 2008 beauty pageant, was a joint winner with Adrian Teh for the Cultural Achievement category.

She picked up her prize from Second Finance Minister Datuk Seri Wong Soon Koh at the award presentation ceremony on Saturday night.

Meanwhile, former deputy chairman of Sibu Municipal Council (SMC) Datuk Andrew Wong won in the Academic Leadership and Accomplishment category.

Other winners were Vincent Tiew (Business, Economic and or Entrepreneurial Accomplishment), Dr Bernard Siew (Moral and Environmental Leadership), Datuk Teh Tai Yong (Political, Legal and or Governmental Affairs), Datuk Choo Beng Kai (Contribution To Children, World Peace and/or Human Rights), Lim Tau Hoong (Scientific and Technological Development) and Dr Teh Chee Ming (Medical Innovation).

A total of 30 personalities were shortlisted for the award but only 10 of them were selected by a panel of judges for the award.

Present at the glittering event were Junior Chamber International (JCI) Malaysia president Datuk Terry Ong and JCI Mandarin Sibu president Kan Wen Chess.

This annual award which recognises individuals aged below 40 for his/her contribution in his/her respective field was introduced in 1985.

Among the previous winners were artistes Datuk Siti Nurhaliza Tarudin, Datuk Sheila Majid and Datuk Michelle Yeoh as well as Prof Datuk Zaini Ujang, Tan Sri Mohamad Nadzmi Salleh and badminton player Datuk Lee Chong Wei.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across the site