Cheers to the diehards

Penang Sports Club players and officials celebrating after regaining the Masters crown in the PSC-Carlsberg International Sevens.

HOST Penang Sports Club (PSC) ended an 11-year wait to win the 17th edition of the PSC-Carlsberg International Sevens football tournament in Jalan Utama, George Town.

They gunned down Bangkok Airways of Thailand 3-2 on penalties after both teams had battled to a goalless draw after extra time in the Master’s category final.

The showdown, however, was marred by an early dismissal of Bangkok Airways striker Darong Sroypoangnak, who manhandled the referee for not awarding them a penalty.

That sparked a walkout by the Thais. Luckily, the organiser managed to coax them to return to the field some five minutes later.

Despite the numerical advantage, PSC failed to find the net during regulation time and extra time.

They managed to regain the trophy after a 3-2 win in the shootout, with former state players Thoong Chee Eng, S. Gobiraj and Lim Seong Jin coolly converting their spot kicks.

Bangkok Airways’s Teerayut Pienprasop turned villain when he blasted his spot kick wide.

PSC captain Dr Kalaikumar Nachi attributed the success to his players’ determination and desire.

“We have been working very hard to regain the title which we last won in 2005.

“All the key players kept the tournament dates free as they wanted to feature in the event.

“It wasn’t easy to win the prestigious trophy as there were many strong foreign teams, and to triumph in the end was a jobwell done,” he said.

The annual tournament featured a host of foreign teams from as far as Europe, Maldives, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore and Australia.

Indonesia, especially, had as many as eight teams, with five from Medan and three from Jakarta.

The Indonesians showed they were not here to make up the numbers.

Bintang Kwarta Medan made it to the Veteran’s final but lost 0-1 to Thailand’s Bangkok Airways.

Bangkok Airways’s Thumiphat Supasawat converted the penalty kick after striker Wuttichai Tintawee was floored by Bintang Kwarta’s defender Slamet Riyadi inside the box.

Bangkok Airways team manager Peerapong Prueksaraj said they were happy to be crowned champions for the first time in the Veterans’ challenge.

He, however, said they could have won a double if their team had done well in the Masters category.

“We were unfortunate to lose to PSC in the Masters category. We were champions in that category in 2012 and 2013.

“But winning the prestigious Veterans title more or less made up for the disappointment, as we were up against a tough side from Indonesia (Bintang Kwarta).

“We will be back to defend our crown next year,” he added.


Veterans (Main): S-finals: Bintang Kwarta Medan (Ina) bt Kilat Club (Kul) 2-1; Bangkok Airways (Tha) bt Valencia Veterans (Maldives) 3-2 on penalties (FT: 1-1).

Final: Bangkok Airways (Tha) bt Bintang Kwarta Medan (Ina) 1-0.

Plate (S-finals): Hunter FC (Ked) bt Black Eagle FC (Sab) 3-2 on penalties (FT: 1-1); Samba FC (Kul) bt Royal Selangor Club (Sel) 1-0).

Final: Samba FC (Kul) bt Hunter FC (Ked) 2-0.

Masters (Main): S-finals: Penang Sports Club (Pen) bt Pertamina Medan (Ina) 3-2 on penalties (FT: 0-0); Bangkok Airways (Tha) bt Bintang Kwarta Medan (Ina) 1-0.

Final: Penang Sports Club (Pen) bt Bangkok Airways (Tha) 3-2 on penalties (FT/ET: 0-0).

Plate (S-finals): Binjal Putra FC Medan (Ina) bt Ulu Klang Recreation Club (Sel) 3-0; Harimau Mega FC (Joh) bt Langkawi Veterans (Ked) 1-0.

Final: Binjai Putra Medan (Ina) bt Harimau Mega FC (4-0).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Sport , Northern Region , ropick-SPORTS


Others Also Read