MPAJ and MPSepang councillor seats filled, two spots left in MBPJ

COUNCILLOR positions in the Ampang Jaya Municipal Council and Sepang Municipal Council have been filled while two more posts have yet to be filled in the Petaling Jaya City Council as of yesterday.

New appointees expressed their wishes to focus working on improving new areas while the incumbents pledged to solve long-standing issues.

Ampang Jaya Municipal Council (MPAJ)

The MPAJ line-up of councillors for the 2014/2015 term has been filled with the swearing-in of 11 councillors yesterday.

The council members now comprise 11 councillors from PKR, while DAP and PAS are represented by six and seven respectively, totalling to 24.

The two new faces are Nor Hayati Haron and Lim Tim Chai.

Nor Hayati, 58, is a former nurse at University Malaya Medical Centre (PPUM) with 32 years of experience.

The Pandan Wanita PKR chief and Taman Saga PKR branch chief, is also vice-president of the Thalassaemia Association of Malaysia and for the Thalassaemia Association of PPUM.

“As a long-time resident of Taman Saga in Ampang, my main concern has always been the cleanliness of the area.

“With my appointment as councillor, I hope to be able to tackle the growing concerns of illegal dumping and rise of dengue cases in whichever zone I am assigned to,” she said.

Meanwhile, businessman Lim, 56, said he would focus on infrastructure defects in his area.

“During conversations with the public, many complain about pothole-ridden roads as well as cleanliness issues,” he said.

Lim is also the Pandan PKR branch vice-president III.

Council president Abdul Hamid Hussain said a meeting would be held soon to decide on the areas each councillor would be looking after under the zone resident committees (JKP).

“Wherever possible we will maintain the former councillors at their own respective JKPs because they have built a rapport with residents,” he said.

Incumbent councillors sworn in yesterday were Razali Ramly, Hassan Yusof, Hamsah Djabir, Salmah Ismail, Ahmad Sabri Abu Bakar, Fong Teck Keong, Subramani Rengasamy, Yogayswari Ramalu, and Ahmad Fauzi Mohd Kamis.

Sepang Municipal Council (MPSepang)

A total of nine councillors were sworn in yesterday, including first-timer Nermala Dewi Muthusamy who has pledged to work on the rubbish problem in the Sepang district.

“I am looking forward to my new appointment and I hope to serve the residents under my care,” she said.

Eight councillors who were reappointed were Sanizan Senin, Mohd Shafinye Mohd Nasoha, Lee Kan Ming, Baharudin Misran, Norazmi Saonan, Suziana Musa, Rosmah Abdul Rashid and Wong Chuan How.

Wong was nominated by DAP and the rest were nominated by PKR.

Baharudin, who had served for the past three years, said he would continue to help residents of the high-rise buildings in Putra Perdana to instal individual water meter.

“At least 70% of residents in Putra Perdana live in apartments and they have been petitioning to convert to individual water meters from bulk meters,” he said.

He added that so far, 30% of the residents had managed to convert to individual water meters.

Returning councillor Wong wants to focus on Bagan Lalang and how MPSepang could work to make the area tourist-friendly with cleaner food courts at the beach and drains that are free from rubbish,” he said.

MPSepang deputy president Hafiz Shaari welcomed the new and reappointed councillors.

“A councillor’s job is not only to receive complaints from the residents, but also be responsible to deliver the message from the state government to the residents,” he said.

Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ)

Twelve PKR appointees took their oaths yesterday as MBPJ councillors. Several were veteran appointees, with Tang Fuie Koh, whose zone of responsibility covered PJ Sections 16 and 17, resuming his position as PKR council whip.

Other familiar faces included Halimey Abu Bakar, Raja Fairuz Raja Mazlan, Mahharul Ismail and Suriase Gengiah.

Two new appointees in the mix were Sugumaran Annamalai (Sections 8, 14 and 51A) and Wong Yuet Leng (PJU 1, SS25, SS4), with the latter increasing the number of MBPJ female councillors now to four.

Both said they had much to learn from the “seniors”, and hoped to do a good job of serving Petaling Jaya ratepayers.

“As I am new at this position, I will need to focus on the basics like hygiene and roads.

“But given the spread of the dengue fever, and acting mayor Puasa Md Taib has also asked us to focus primarily on this, I will have to start looking at the hotspots in my zone,” said Sugumaran after his swearing-in and first full council board meeting yesterday.

Two more councillors’ posts have yet to be filled, meaning areas without councillors areZone 4 including PJU 1A, PJU 2 (Taman Perindustrian Jaya), and PJU 3, and Zone 5 (SS21, SS22, SS22A).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy