PNB announces new appointments to its board

  • Corporate News
  • Wednesday, 26 Dec 2018

KUALA LUMPUR: Permodalan Nasional Bhd (PNB) has appointed four new members to its board of directors to succeed its members retiring on Dec 31.

In a statement issued today, PNB announced that Datuk Ahmad Badri Mohd Zahir, Tan Sri Zainun Ali, Datuk Nik Ramlah Nik Mahmood and Datuk Johan Ariffin will join the board to take on the roles left behind by Tan Sri Ali Hamsa, Tan Sri Wan Abdul Aziz Wan Abdullah and Tan Sri Zarinah Anwar.

Ahmad Badri is currently the Secretary General of Treasury and has served the Ministry of Finance for more than 25 years. 

Zainun is a former Federal Court Judge in Malaysia and prior to that held various positions in the Legal and Judicial Service. 

Nik Ramlah is the former deputy chief executive of Securities Commission Malaysia (SC) and currently serves as a member of the board of directors of Amanah Saham Nasional Bhd (ASNB). 

Johan, who has vast experience in property development, banking and insurance, is presently the chairman of Mitraland Group of Companies and Pelaburan Hartanah Nasional Bhd and also a board member of a number of public listed companies, which among others include Sime Darby Property Bhd.

“I am pleased to welcome the distinguished line up of new members to the PNB Board, who possess between them extensive and complementary experience in their respective fields of investment, law, economics, as well as real estate. 

"PNB looks forward to gaining from their contribution as we continue to be relentlessly focused on strengthening our resilience and delivering on our mandate to enhance the economic wealth of the Bumiputera community and all Malaysians," said PNB group chairman Tan Sri Zeti Aziz.

In the same statement, PNB announced the retirement of Tan Sri Noor Azlan Ghazali from the board of directors of ASNB and PNB Research Institute Sdn Bhd.

The composition of the boards of directors of PNB and ASNB, effective Jan 1, 2019, is as follows:

Board of Directors of Permodalan Nasional Berhad:
1. Tan Sri Dr. Zeti Aziz (Group Chairman of PNB)
2. Dato' Abdul Rahman Ahmad (President and Group Chief Executive of PNB)
3. Datuk Ahmad Badri bin Mohd Zahir
4. Tan Sri Datuk Zainun binti Ali
5. Datuk Dr. Mohd. Yaakub bin Haji Johari
6. Datu Haji Soedirman bin Haji Aini
7. Dato Dr. Nik Ramlah binti Nik Mahmood
8. Dato’ Johan bin Ariffin

Board of Directors of Amanah Saham Nasional Berhad:
1. Tan Sri Dr. Zeti Aziz (Group Chairman of PNB)
2. Dato' Abdul Rahman Ahmad (President and Group Chief Executive of PNB)
3. Encik Mohammad bin Hussin (Chief Executive Officer & Executive Director of
4. Datuk Seri Dr. Nik Norzrul Thani bin Nik Hassan Thani
5. Dato Dr. Nik Ramlah binti Nik Mahmood

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site