Adelaide Strikers win first WBBL title

(Reuters) - The Adelaide Strikers claimed the Women's Big Bash League (WBBL) title on Saturday with a 10-run win over the Sydney Sixers at the North Sydney Oval.

Deandra Dottin made an unbeaten 52 runs from 37 deliveries, including two sixes and two fours in her final three overs, as Adelaide finished their innings 147-5.

Sydney's innings started 15 minutes late as they waited for the sun to set to avoid players' visibility issues, and they found themselves at 16-4 after their first six overs.

The Sixers were eventually dismissed for 137 and Adelaide, who were in the final for the third time in three years, lifted the WBBL trophy for the first time in their history.

(Reporting by Adam Millington; Editing by Hugh Lawson)

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Cricket

Cricket-Perth Scorchers overcome Sydney Sixers to secure BBL final berth
Cricket-Roy ton in vain as England collapse to defeat in first S.Africa ODI
Cricket-Conway, Mitchell power NZ to win over India in first T20
Cricket-Lara to act as 'performance mentor' for West Indies
Cricket-Returning Archer wants to rediscover 2019 Ashes, World Cup form
Cricket-Women's IPL franchises fetch $572 million for Indian board
Cricket-South Africa need series whitewash as they chase World Cup qualification
Cricket-Door open for Stokes to end ODI retirement and play World Cup - Mott
Cricket-Opener Gill's maturity impresses India captain Rohit
Cricket-India thrash New Zealand by 90 runs to complete ODI series sweep

Others Also Read