Muhyiddin wins unopposed in Bersatu polls

PETALING JAYA: Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (pic) was returned unopposed as Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia president in the party’s maiden polls which saw Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Md Yusof missing from the line-up.

The Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department had contested for one of the three vice-president posts together with 16 others.

Mohd Redzuan had also lost his post as Masjid Tanah Bersatu chief to Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin in the division polls earlier this year. Also failing to garner a win in the contest for the post was Johor executive councillor Mazlan Bujang.

The three vice-presidents were Agriculture and Food Industries Minister Datuk Seri Ronald Kiandee, Education Minister Dr Mohd Radzi Jidin and Melaka executive councillor Datuk Mohd Rafiq Naizamohideen.

The list issued by the party yesterday saw the chairman’s post, formerly occupied by Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, remained vacant while Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu was elected deputy president.

Among the notable names who were elected as supreme council members were Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed, Deputy Defence Minister Datuk Seri Ikmal Hashim Abdul Aziz, National Higher Education Fund Corporation chairman Wan Saiful Wan Jan, Deputy Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Rosol Wahid and Tasek Gelugor MP Datuk Shahbudin Yahaya.

Azlinda Abdul Latif and Shamsila Siru were the two women in the 20-member council.

Veteran politician and former minister Tan Sri Rais Yatim and former election commission chief Tan Sri Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman were among those who lost in the contest for a seat in the council.

Senator Datuk Mohd Suhaimi Abdullah won the permanent chairman post in a four-cornered fight while Datuk Hashim Suboh was elected deputy permanent chairman, defeating eight others.

Bersatu election committee chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said the polls were held concurrently at 177 divisions on Saturday.

He said two other divisions were disqualified from participating in polls due to the lack of quorum.

“A total of 23,438 delegates cast their votes.”

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

Selangor Sultan calls on people to celebrate Aidilfitri moderately, be vigilant
Sabah to stick with CMCO guidelines until May 17 despite nationwide MCO
Khairy: HIDE able to identify potential Covid-19 hotspots despite blind spots in system
Penang shopping centres flagged by HIDE system to reopen after sanitisation
Covid-19: Genting cluster among 19 new clusters identified
Celebrations for Hari Raya in Sarawak limited to first day and close family only
Dang Wangi cops crack down on call centre offering fake investments
PM: Whole country under MCO from May 12-June 7
Covid-19: 17 new fatalities bring death toll to 1,700
Travellers from Singapore to undergo 14-day quarantine due to prevalence of Covid-19 variants

Stories You'll Enjoy