Awards honours the best in local Indian entertainment scene

Small-screen favourites: Sangeetha (left) and Haridas with their awards for the telemovie ‘Unarvu’. They are joined by Jasmin Michael.

THERE was double joy for local artistes P. Denes Kumar and K. Sangeeta at the recent Malaysian Kalai Ulagam (MKU) Awards ceremony.

Denes Kumar was voted the Most Popular Artiste and also received the Best Male TV Anchor award while Sangeeta received the Best Actress award in both the movie and telemovie & DVD categories.

Denes is an accomplished actor, anchor, compere, dancer and director.

He collected the most number of votes in a poll conducted by MKU, an online portal promoting Malaysian Indians in show business, beating five other artistes for the Most Popular Artiste award. The five others were C. Kumaresan, Jasmin Michael, Kash Villanz, Geetha and Magen.

Denes’ second award — Best Male TV Anchor — was for hosting the popular Vanavil Superstar reality show on the Tamil channel, Astro Vaanavil.

Proud moment: Kaameshaa receiving the Best Supporting Actress award in the movie category from music composer Sundra.
Proud moment: Kaameshaa receiving the Best Supporting Actress award in the movie category from music composer Sundra.

An excited Denes said the win was an encouragement for him to keep giving his best in the local movie industry.

“The awards, especially the Most Popular Artiste, is a meaningful one. Being voted in a poll among seasoned artistes is indeed encouraging.

“The award is a big responsibility. I have to live up to expectations in my next programme. I am really excited,” he said.

Sangeeta was voted Best Actress for her impressive performance in the movie Vennira Iravuggal and telemovie Unarvu.

When receiving the award, Sangeetha said she was not keen on pursuing an acting career in India.

“I am happy working in Malaysia. I prefer to continue acting in local movies. I’d like to thank MKU for initiating this awards. It is a recognition to Malaysian Indian talents,” she said to applause from the audience.

Aghonthiran (lkeft) receiving the Best Actor (movies) award from C. Kumaresan.
From one hero to another: Aghonthiran (left) receiving the Best Actor award in the movie category from Kumaresan.

Unarvu and Vennira Iravuggal bagged the most number of awards that night.

Voted best telemovie, Unarvu tells the story of a man who becomes a father under unexpected circumstances, forcing him to change his life path. The telemovie thus revolves around the relationship between him and his daughter.

Haridhass, who played the doting father, was named Best Actor while R. Kaameshaa won Best Suppporting Actress.

S. Shashitharan, who directed Unarvu, won the Best Director award while the Best Cinematographer award went to P. Utayakumar.

Shashitharan, who started his career as an actor, made his directorial debut with this telemovie.

“We had an excellent script and the artistes gave their best. We were able to come out with an interesting movie.

All smiles: Denes Kumar receiving the award for Best TV Anchor from music composer Daddy Shaq.
All smiles: Denes Kumar receiving the award for Best TV Anchor from music composer Daddy Shaq.

“The credit should go to the producer for having faith in the story and in me. This is a good beginning for me and I am now working on my next project,’’ Shashitharan said.

Meanwhile, Vennira Iravuggal won five awards — Best Movie, Best Director (R. Perakas), Best Cinematographer (Mano V. Narayanan), Best Music Director (Lawrence Soosai) and Best Actress (Sangeeta).

Veteran artiste K.S. Maniam, who has been involved in the local drama and movie scene for almost 40 years, received the Lifetime Achievement award.

Awards organising chairman SP Saravanan said they were pleased with the response from the local artistes.

“We had exclusively invited only the artistes from the Malaysian Indian entertainment scene.

Choosing Malaysia: Sangeetha addressing the audience upon receiving her award.
Choosing Malaysia: Sangeetha addressing the audience upon receiving her award.

“They came in full force to support their colleagues. It is a healthy sign and we plan to organise the event annually in February.

“For next year, the winners will be announced in the first week of January,” he said.


Most Popular Artiste: Denes Kumar

Life-time Achievement Award: K. S. Maniam

Movie category

Best Movie: Vennira Iravugal

Best Actor: Aghonthiran (Kaithiyin Agarathi)

Best Actress: K. Sangeeta (Vennira Iravuggal)

Best Male Supporting Actor: Thangamani (Vetti Pasanga)

Best Female Supporting Actress: Malarvizhi Shanmugam (Vetti Pasanga)

Best Male Newcomer: Rabbit Mac (Maindhan)

Best Female Newcomer: Shaila Nair (Maindhan)

Best Comedian: Gana (Victory)

Best Lyrics writer: Yuwaji (Ore Oru Sollil – Vetti Pasanga)

Best Music Director : Lawrence Soosai (Vennira Iravuggal)

Best Director: R. Perakas (Vennira Iravuggal)

Best Male Singer: Dhilip Varman (En Uyire – Vetti Pasanga)

Best Female Singer: Renuka Shree (Ore Oru Sollil – Vetti Pasanga)

Best Song: Azhagana Pani Katru (Victory)

Best Cinematographer: Mano V. Narayanan (Vennira Iravuggal)

Best Stunt Master: Ruben (Victory)

Best Editor: Prem Nath (Maindhan)

Telemovie and DVD category

Best Telemovie: Unarvu

Best Actor: Haridhass (Unarvu)

Best Actress: K. Sangeeta (Unarvu)

Best Male Supporting Actor: Suthagar (Otrumai Paalam)

Best Female Supporting Actress: R. Kaameshaa (Unarvu)

Best Music Director: Jamez Raj (Horoscopes)

Best Director: S. Shashitharan (Unarvu)

Best Cinematographer: Uthaya Kumar Palani (Unarvu)

Short Movie category

Best Short Movie: Arinthum Ariyamalum

Best Actor: Karnan G Crack (Netru Aval Irunthal)

Best Actress: Aahmuu Thirunyanam (Aval Oru Pen)

Best Male Supporting Actor: Mahessan Poobalan (Netru Aval Irunthal)

Best Lyrics writer: Ooviya Ummapathi (Idhayam – Arai En 3010)

Best Music Director: Jey Raghavendra (Nallathor Veenai Seithen)

Best Director: Viknish Lokarag (Arinthum Ariyamalum & Netru Aval Irunthal)

Best Song: Ithayam Vali Thanggave (Arai En 3010)

Best Cinematographer: Ravyn Manogaran (Arinthum Ariyamalum)

Best Video Song: Adiyeh Kirukki


Best Male TV Anchor: Denes Kumar (Astro)

Best Female TV Anchor: Ahila (Vizhuthugal)

Best Male Radio Host: Theyvekgan Thamaraichelven (Minnal FM)

Best Female Radio Host: Revathy (THR Raaga)

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Entertainment , Central Region , MKU awards


Others Also Read