X Close


Sunday, 8 June 2014

King: Upholding sovereignty rests on shoulders of citizens

An honour: Tuanku Abdul Halim conferring the PSM award to Razman during the investiture ceremony at Istana Negara. - Bernama

An honour: Tuanku Abdul Halim conferring the PSM award to Razman during the investiture ceremony at Istana Negara. - Bernama

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysians must work together with the Government to ensure the realisation of their plans and aspirations, and that no country in the world can achieve progress without public support, said the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah.

“The responsibility to defend, develop and uphold the sovereignty of the nation rests on the shoulders of every citizen. I believe that with solid support and close cooperation between leaders and people, numerous successes can be recorded by the nation in the future,” he said during the investiture ceremony at Istana Negara here yesterday.

Although both the Government Transformation and Economic Transformation Programmes had surpassed their overall targets in 2013, Tuanku Abdul Halim said the Government should not be complacent because there were still avenues and efforts which should be harnessed to achieve even greater successes.

Also present during the investiture were Raja Permaisuri Agong Tuanku Hajah Haminah, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor as well as Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and his wife Puan Sri Noorainee Abdul Rahman.

Both Tuanku Abdul Halim and the Raja Permaisuri Agong also extended their condolences to the Perak royal family on Sultan Azlan Shah’s recent demise and prayed for strength for the families of MH370 passengers and crew.

The King also expressed his appreciation and thanks to all those who had taken part in the operation to look for the aircraft which went missing on March 8. Later, he conferred federal awards to 38 recipients in conjunction with his birthday celebration.

Heading the list of recipients was 1Malaysia People’s Housing Corporation (PR1MA) chairman Datuk Seri Dr Jamaludin Jarjis, who received the Darjah Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) which carries the title “Tan Sri”.

Also receiving the PSM award were former MCA presidents Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek and Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat, former Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha, Bloomberg TV Malaysia chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Effendi Norwawi, and Media Prima Bhd chairman Datuk Johan Jaaffar.

The PSM was also awarded to 17 other recipients including former Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Seri Chor Chee Heung, former Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen, Sime Darby Bhd chairman Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman, who is also ex-Johor Mentri Besar, deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Seri Mohd Bakri Mohd Zinin, Army chief Gen Datuk Raja Mohamed Affandi Raja Mohamed Noor, Malaysian Pavilion Real-Estate Investment Trust chairman Datuk Lim Siew Choon, Sunway Group deputy executive chairman Datuk Seri Razman Md Hashim Che Din Md Hashim and Malaysian Resources Corporation Berhad Group Managing Director Datuk Mohamad Salim Fateh Din.

Tuanku Abdul Halim also conferred the Darjah Panglima Jasa Negara which carries the title “Datuk” to 16 recipients, including Dewan Rakyat deputy Speaker Datuk Ismail Mohamed Said. — Bernama

Tags / Keywords: Government , Agong s birthday


Most Viewed

Powered by