X Close


Published: Saturday May 31, 2014 MYT 10:11:14 PM
Updated: Tuesday June 17, 2014 MYT 6:36:43 PM

Teluk Intan by-election: Barisan wins by 238 votes

Barisan leaders celebrating Mah's win after the result was announced

Barisan leaders celebrating Mah's win after the result was announced

PETALING JAYA: It was a cliff-hanger ending for the Teluk Intan by-election with Barisan Nasional's Datuk Mah Siew Keong winning by 238 votes.

The Gerakan chief garnered 20,157 votes against his opponent DAP's Dyana Sofya Mohd Daud, who had 19,919 votes. There were 543 spoilt votes.

It was a close fight with both sides leading at various stage of the count, but Mah emerged victorious in the end.

DAP appears to have conceded defeat in a tweet via @dapmalaysia acknowledging that Barisan had won by more than 500 votes.

Mah's win is a major upset because the incumbent was DAP, which had won Teluk Intan with a majority of more than 7,000 votes in the 13th general election.

Election Commission chairman Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof said there were 40,236 voters or 66.67% turnout in the by-election, including early voters.

Related articles:

Teluk Intan by-election: It's going to be very close

Teluk Intan by-election: EC hoping for at least 70% turnout

Teluk Intan by-election: 21 reports lodged during campaign period

Telun Intan by-election: Teen caught trying to cause mischief with fireworks

Tags / Keywords: Politics, Teluk Intan by-election, BN, DAP, Mah Siew Keong, Dyana Sofya Mohd Daud


  1. UM lecturer Azmi Sharom faces sedition charge
  2. MH17: Names of nine returning victims released
  3. A joyous Merdeka celebration
  4. Cops arrest 156 voluntary patrol members after state-level Merdeka procession
  5. Two youths killed in crash while racing in their Evo
  6. They acted like gangsters, IGP Khalid says of PPS
  7. World champion still a dream for Chong Wei
  8. Proton offers sneak peek of new compact car
  9. Cops swoop in to arrest PPS members after Penang Merdeka parade
  10. Riot erupts after Sarawak-Perak football match in Kuching