Published: Wednesday March 19, 2014 MYT 7:30:00 AM
Updated: Tuesday March 18, 2014 MYT 5:35:23 PM

Laudrup, Nakata coming to KL for Laureus Awards

KUALA LUMPUR: Football personalities led by Fabio Capello, Michael Laudrup, Steve McManaman, Victor Baia and Hidetoshi Nakata will be here for the 2014 Laureus World Sports Awards being held at Istana Budaya next week.

They will be involved in the Laureus All-Star Unity Cup exhibition game, which will be played on the eve of the Awards ceremony at the Royal Selangor Club in Bukit Kiara on March 25 (at 5pm).

The two 30-minute halves will be played in front of an invited audience only. Capello and Laudrup will be coaches of the two teams, which will also include former Dutch star Ronald de Boer, Paulo Ferreira (Portugal), Gaizka Mendieta (Spain) and Antonios Nikopolidis (Greece).

The Laureus World Sports Awards, the premier honours on the international sporting calendar, are given out based on votes by the Laureus World Sports Academy, which acts as a sports jury and is made up of 46 of the greatest sportsmen and women of all time.

The nominees for the 2014 Laureus World Sports Awards are:

Sportsman: Usain Bolt (Jamaica, athletics), Mo Farah (Britain, athletics), LeBron James (US, basketball), Rafael Nadal (Spain, tennis), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, football), and Sebastian Vettel (Germany, motor racing).

Sportswoman: Nadine Angerer (Germany, football), Missy Franklin (US, swimming), Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica, athletics), Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia, athletics), Tina Maze (Slovenia, skiing), and Serena Williams (US, tennis).

World Team: All Blacks (New Zealand, rugby union), Bayern Munich (Germany, football), Brazil men’s football team, Bob & Mike Bryan (US, tennis), Miami Heat (US, basketball), and Red Bull (Austria, motor racing).

World Breakthrough: Afghanistan cricket team; Marc Márquez (Spain, motor cycling), Raphael Holzdeppe (Germany, athletics), Nairo Quintana (Colombia, cycling), Justin Rose (Britain, golf), and Adam Scott (Australia, golf).

World Comeback: Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia, athletics), Rafael Nadal (Spain, tennis), Oracle Team USA (sailing), Tony Parker (France, basketball), Ronaldinho (Brazil, football), and Tiger Woods (US, golf).

Sportsperson with a Disability: Marie Bochet (France, skiing), Marcel Hug (Switzerland, wheelchair racing), Tatyana McFadden (US, wheelchair racing), Sophie Pascoe (New Zealand, swimming), Sarah Louise Rung (Norway, swimming), and Olga Sviderska (Ukraine, swimming).

World Action Sportsperson: Jamie Bestwick (Britain, BMX), Bob Burnquist (Brazil, skateboarding) Mick Fanning (Australia, surfing), John John Florence (US, surfing), Maya Gabeira (Brazil, surfing), and Shaun White (US, snowboarding).

Tags / Keywords: Laureus, Fabio Capello, Michael Laudrup, Steve McManaman, Victor Baia, Hidetoshi Nakata, Laureus World Sports Awards


Most Viewed

Powered by