Published: Sunday February 16, 2014 MYT 5:52:00 PM
Updated: Sunday February 16, 2014 MYT 5:58:57 PM

M’sia beat S’pore in cricket tri-series

PETALING JAYA: Malaysia secured the inaugural cricket tri-series title with a seven-wicket victory over Singapore in the final match at the Kinrara Oval in Puchong on Sunday.

Singapore, who won the toss, elected to bat first, and it proved to be costly as they were all-out for only 145 runs in just 41.5 overs.

Their highest scorer was Chetan Suryawansi with 34 runs, while Navin Param and Vijay Kumar contributed 28 and 20 runs respectively.

Malaysia’s top destroyer was Hassan Ghulam who picked up 4 wickets in 9 overs. Anwar A. Rahman and Pavandeep took 2 wickets each to end Singapore’s weak resistance.

Chasing the modest total, Malaysia's opening pair put up 26 runs before opener Sheikh Nasir (22) was caught. Skipper Ahmad Faiz then went in to steady the innings with an unbeaten 67 to secure the victory, and collect the Man of the Match accolade.

Suhan Kumar with 30 and Fikri Makram (18) added to Malaysia’s winning run total.

Tags / Keywords: Malaysia, Singapore, cricket, tri series


Most Viewed

Powered by