X Close


Published: Monday March 10, 2014 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Monday March 10, 2014 MYT 7:02:14 AM

MCA reps sworn in as MPJBT councillors

JOHOR BARU: Five MCA representatives have been sworn in as Johor Baru Central Municipal Council (MPJBT) councillors while two others will be sworn in by the middle of the month.

A representative from Umno was also sworn in during the ceremony at the MPJBT building in Skudai here yesterday, bringing the total number of councillors to 21.

MPJBT president Salehuddin Hassan said that the council was still short of three councillors as its original quota comprised 24 representatives.

“The remaining two from MCA and one from Umno are expected to be sworn in before the council’s committee meeting on March 17,” he said in a press conference after the ceremony.

The five MCA councillors are Er Siau Kheng, 54, who was appointed as the new deputy whip, Ng Yew Aik, 49, Lim Soon Hai, 45, Tan Tuan Peng, 40, and Leong Kwai Seng, 46. The Umno representative was Abdul Aziz Abdullah, 58.

Salehuddin said the ceremony was the third swearing-in event following the first and second ceremonies where 11 and four were sworn-in before him.

Meanwhile Er, who led the councillors during the ceremony, advised the councillors to perform their duties well no matter which zones they were in charge of.

“There have been complaints from the public where the councillors push their responsibilities to other councillors because the problem did not occur in his designated zone.

“We should provide service to the people as long as the problem is within our jurisdiction. I will bring this matter up in our committee meeting,” he said.

Tags / Keywords: Government, swearing in, MPJBT, councillors, MCA, Umno


Most Viewed

Powered by