X Close


Wednesday, 16 July 2014

ABSA Prima are kings of the kick

Proud winners: The ABSA Prima team celebrating their win 
with officials and sponsors.

Proud winners: The ABSA Prima team celebrating their win with officials and sponsors.

ABSA Prima from Johor scored four goals against Bayas United from Kuala Terengganu and walked away as the champion of the Fisherman’s Friend ‘Memang Ada Kick’ 2014 recently.

Saiful Nizam scored two goals for ABSA Prima in the 4-0 win, making history by winning their first title at the national level.

ABSA Prima took home the grand prize of RM5,000, a championship trophy and jerseys.

The runner-up, Bayas United, received RM2,500 and jerseys.

Meanwhile, Fauzio and Graduan Bersatu took home RM1,000 each after jointly finishing third.

Saiful Nizam of ABSA Prima was awarded “Best Player” for his outstanding performance while the “Best Goalkeeper” award went to Tengku Azraf Fahimi of Bayas United.

Twenty top teams were selected from five qualifying matches held across Malaysia.

The first qualifying match kicked off on April 26 at Sports Planet Subang Grand, followed by Sports Planet Penang (May 3), Sports Prima Johor Baru (May 10), Sports Planet Kuala Terengganu (May 24) and Sports Planet Ampang (May 31).

In the qualifying matches, the top four teams from each location qualified for the Grand Final championship.

The champion of each qualifying match received RM1,500 while the runner-up and semi-finalists received RM1,000, and RM500, respectively.

Fisherman’s Friend Media Cup was held simultaneously during the Grand Final.

The Sun emerged as the champion after defeating Wednesday FC (Primeworks) 2-0.

The Sun received RM1,000, a championship trophy and jerseys.

Wednesday FC (Primeswork) received RM500 and goodies from Fisherman’s Friend.

Dewan Bahasa & Pustaka and Malaysia Press Photographer Association received RM250 as the semifinalists.


Grand Final
Champions : ABSA Prima (Johor)
Runner- up: Bayas United (Terengganu)
Third: Fauzio (KL) & Graduan Bersatu (Selangor)
Best Player – Saiful Nizam (ABSA Prima)
Best Goalkeeper – Tengku Azraf Fahimi (Bayas United)

Media Cup
Champion: The Sun
Runner- up: Wednesday FC (Primeswork)
Third: Dewan Bahasa Pustaka & Malaysia Press Photographer Association

Tags / Keywords: Central Region , Community Sports , Fishermans Friend


Most Viewed

Powered by