This week, soccer stars compete in the FIFA 20 Stay and Play cup

  • Video games
  • Wednesday, 15 Apr 2020

The FIFA 20 Stay and Play Cup offers a temporary replacement for midweek and weekend soccer matches. — AFP Relaxnews

With live soccer absent from football pitches as part of Covid-19 measures, players from 20 top European clubs are taking part in a five-day tournament starting April 15.

Twenty players from 20 European soccer clubs will be contesting the Stay and Play Cup from April 15 to 19.

Already confirmed via the EA Sports FIFA Twitter account are global stars like Brazil's Vincius Jr (Real Madrid) and Bruno Guimarães (Olympique Lyonnais), Britain-based César Azpilicueta (Chelsea) and Phil Foden (Manchester City), US right-back Sergiño Dest (Ajax) and Borussia Dortmund's Real Madrid loanee, Morocco defender Achraf Hakimi.

Instead of donning studs and taking to stadium turf, they'll be picking up gamepads and putting on headsets for a series of one-on-one matches in video game FIFA 20.

Matches begin at 9am PT/ 5pm Britain/ 6pm Central Europe (12am, the next day Malaysia) each day, broadcast live through the EA Sports Twitch TV channel,

The tournament also doubles as a fundraising effort for the Coronavirus Relief Fund run by Global Giving, to which game company Electronic Arts will be donating US$1m (RM4.3mil), providing fans and viewers with other ways to donate and support the campaign.

As is often the way with company-sponsored Twitch TV streams, there are opt-in perks for those that watch: those that link their Twitch and EA accounts will have a chance of receiving some items for FIFA 20 virtual card game FIFA Ultimate Team, a game mode which has become a significant money spinner for Electronic Arts.

The complete club roll call includes Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City and Tottenham Hotspur from the English Premier League; Olympique Lyonnais, Marseille and PSG from France's Ligue 1; Dortmund from Germany's Bundesliga; and Real Madrid, Atlético Madrid and Valencia from Spain's La Liga.

Also involved are Porto (Portugal), AS Roma (Italy), Ajax and PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands), AIK and Djurgården (Sweden), HJK Helsinki (Finland) and FC Copenhagen and Brondby (Denmark). – AFP Relaxnews

Article type: free
User access status:

Football Soccer


Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site