Delete your Fitbit account if you're worried about Google's takeover


  • Google
  • Saturday, 16 Nov 2019

You should download a copy of your data before you delete your account. — dpa

If you're one of Fitbit's 28 million active users, you may be concerned about your fitness and health data now that Google has bought the fitness wearables company.

Fitbit has promised that the user data it has collected will be neither sold nor used for advertising in the future, but consumer advocates are sceptical. Facebook made a similar promise when it acquired WhatsApp – and broke it two years later.

If you don't trust Google's promise and want to prevent the search engine giant getting its hands on your data, you need to delete your Fitbit account. However, you'll have to accept that not all Fitbit services will work without an account.

You should download a copy of your data before you delete your account. To do this, log into the Fitbit website, click on the cog in the upper right corner to open the settings and then click on "Data export".

To delete your account, go into "Personal settings" and then "Delete account". A pop-up window will ask you to enter your password to confirm the action. You'll then receive an email with a link to click on to complete the deletion. – dpa

Article type: free
User access status: 3
   

Across The Star Online