ADVERTISEMENT

Chrome now warns you if your passwords have been hacked


Any checks of your username and password by Chrome's new Password Checkup extension are said to be carried out in real time and are fully encrypted. — dpa

Any checks of your username and password by Chrome's new Password Checkup extension are said to be carried out in real time and are fully encrypted. — dpa

Google's Chrome browser can now warn you if you're using a password that's been shared online and might be insecure, whenever you log into online services.

Once you've installed Chrome's new Password Checkup extension, a warning message will be displayed if you enter a username and password that have been published online somewhere by hackers – for example, after a major leak on a social media website.

   

ADVERTISEMENT