Nintendo announces ‘ARMS,’ ‘Splatoon 2’ showcase for May 17


  • TECH
  • Wednesday, 17 May 2017

Careful to support the new Switch console with regular releases, Nintendo's atypical sports game ARMS is being treated to a showcase video from 6pm EST on May 17, during which a new trailer for Splatoon 2 will also be shown. 

Its March 2017 launch day was supported by highly anticipated, critically acclaimed adventure The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild; one month later and April's Mario Kart 8 Deluxe was doing its best to make the Nintendo Switch a must-have. 

Nintendo is determined to avoid the downfalls of its previous console, the Wii U, with the Switch, a portable home console hybrid. 

The month of May has been a little more sparse, fighting game fans given a choice between a quasi-exclusive re-release Ultra Street Fighter II: The Final Challengers, which has struggled to establish its value among sections of the franchise's fan community, and the less well-known but extremely highly rated Garou: Mark of the Wolves

But things pick up in June with the arrival of ARMS, an unusual mixture of contact-based sports whose director was deeply involved in 2014's Super Smash Bros and original release of Mario Kart 8

When ARMS releases worldwide on June 16, it will be following three days of live Nintendo broadcasts from the Electronic Entertainment Expo in Los Angeles, and is expected to feature prominently, along with fellow upcoming releases Splatoon 2, Xenoblade Chronicles 2 and Super Mario Odyssey

There's no need to wait until then to raise its profile, or so it would seem, with Nintendo dedicating a pre-recorded Nintendo Direct video to its virtues – and fans of 2015's extremely well rated Splatoon are being encouraged to tune in as well, as they'll be rewarded with a brand new trailer, Nintendo of America promised via Twitter. 

The 3pm PST start time equates to 6pm EDT, 10pm UTC, and 11pm BST, and then midnight on May 18 in Central Europe and South Africa, 3.30am in Delhi, India, 6am in Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines and Beijing, China, and 8am in Sydney, Australia. 

Nintendo Direct broadcasts are traditionally hosted at nintendo.com/nintendo-direct. — AFP Relaxnews


Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
   

Across The Star Online