Archives | The Star Online.


Monday December 19, 2011

Former national striker returns as coach in Kedah

Major role: Mohd Nidzam set to coach the Kedah President team.

FORMER National striker Mohd Nidzam Adzha Yusoff, a member of the glorious Kedah soccer team between 1993 and 1998, will coach the Kedah President’s Cup team next year and in 2013.

He will take over from incumbent Fisol Abdul Razak whose two-year contract ended in October 2011.

Mohd Nidzam Adzha’s two-year contract started on December 1. He had represented Perak from 1988 to 1992 and Kedah between 1993 and 1998 before taking up soccer coaching as a career.

He had also donned the national colours for five years since 1991.

Mohd Nidzam Adzha’s 10-year involvement as a top flight player was a plus factor in his new role as a coach.

As a professional player he had won two FA Cup medals, one with Perak (1990) and another with Kedah (1996).

Born in Taiping, Perak, he had represented his home state for five years (1988-1992), before migrating to Kedah from 1993 to 1998.

He had a one-year stint with Kelantan in 1999 before rejoining Kedah in 2000. He took up coaching in 2000 and went on to obtain his AFC A Coaching Licence in 2008 and has since handled several teams including the Perlis Super League team in 2010 and the Sime Darby President’s Cup team in 2011.

Meanwhile, Mohd Nidzam Adzha will double up as the Kedah Super League squad coach for the first seven league matches in 2012 because coach Wan Jamak Hassan and his assistants Mohd Radzi Mat Din and Ahmad Sobri Ismail have been suspended by the Football Association of Malaysia.

The Kedah squad have two Brazilians as foreign signings and seven new local players for the new season which kicks off on Jan 7.

The Brazilians are Danilo Rafael Dos Santos Vivaldo, 24, a central defender and mid-fielder Daniel Soares Neves, 31. The seven local players are from the Perlis Super League team, one from Kuala Lumpur Super League and two others from the Penang Premier League squad.

They are mid-fielders Azmizi Azmi, Mohd Sany Mat Isa, strikers Mohd Fiqkry Md Isa and Mohd Faizal Abu Bakar (all Perlis), See Kok Luen (Kuala Lumpur), Mohd Kamal Azira Abdul Manah and Abdul Latiff Suhaimi (Penang).