Archives | The Star Online.


Tuesday August 4, 2009

Record number of teams to feature in the Razak Cup

KUALA LUMPUR: A record 16 teams will compete in the Razak Cup which will be held from Aug 13- 20 at the Tun Razak Stadium here.

It will remain a two-division format. Division One will have seven teams while the other nine will be divided into two pools in Division Two.

This year will see the participation of two foreign teams – Singapore and Brunei. The Malaysian Hockey Federation (MHF) have agreed to field their Project 2013 team in Division One.

MHF secretary Hashim Moha-med Yusof noted that this was the biggest number of entries for the annual meet.

“This is the largest number of teams to have registered for the Razak Cup. We had to break Division Two into two groups to accommodate the entries. There will be a cross-over semi-final for Division Two,” said Hashim.

Defending champions and 17-time winners Kuala Lumpur will start as the favourites in Division One.

Negri Sembilan, the runners-up last year, are expected to provide the challenge yet again while the other teams in the Division One fray are Perak, Malacca, Johor, Penang, Project 2013.

The teams in Division Two are Selangor, Perlis, Singapore, Police, Armed Forces, Kedah, Pahang, Sabah and Brunei.

n IPOH: Malaysia A beat Malaysia B, 2-0 in their opening Asian Indoor Hockey Championship six-a-side match at the Indera Mulia Indoor Stadium here yesterday.

Malaysia A scored a goal in each half through S. Kugan and Keevan Raj for the victory.

The championship, organised by the Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) was opened by the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah who is also the AHF president.

In another match, Uzbekistan whipped Thailand 13-1 with Mamedov Ravil scoring five goals and Qualandraov Gloib completing a hat-trick in the rout.

Boonpea Warun scored Thailand’s only goal of the match in the 22nd minute.

Today, defending champions Iran play Malaysia B at 4.30pm and Malaysia A face Thailand at 6pm.

All matches would be played at the Indera Mulia Indoor Stadium, Ipoh.