Archives | The Star Online.


Tuesday June 8, 2010

Former PKR five form independent bloc in House

FIVE MPs who left PKR have set up an independent bloc known as Konsensus Bebas (Independent Consensus) as the official platform for its members in the Dewan Rakyat.

A spokesman for the bloc, Datuk Seri Zahrain Mohamed Hashim (Bayan Baru), said the concensus would accomplish its responsibilities without the patronage of any political party.

“It will be an effective, independent and non-partisan parliamentary bloc. Voicing views and taking political actions as independent MPs.

“We believe the formation of the bloc is the best solution for us to present issues of national and public interest collectively and effectively,” he told reporters at the parliament lobby.

The other members in the bloc are Wee Choo Keong (Wangsa Maju), Zulkifli Noordin (Kulim-Bandar Baharu), Tan Tee Beng (Nibong Tebal) and Mohsin Fadzli Samsuri (Bagan Serai).

“As an independent platform, the bloc will support either the Govern­ment or Opposition conditionally,” he said.

Zahrain said political parties had failed in fulfilling the aspirations of the people for reformation as promised in the 2008 general election.

“Political parties place the party agenda as their primary interest and the leaders are inclined to grab power. The rakyat are victims of the struggle for power and position,” he added.

The group would inform Parlia­ment of the setting up of the body, its secretariat and website.

Zahrain said the concensus aspired to be the “third force” in the Dewan Rakyat.

Asked whether Datuk Seri Ibrahim Ali (Independent – Pasir Mas) would be invited to join the bloc, he said the group had not discussed with him but MPs must have the same aspirations to join Konsensus Bebas.