Tennis-Manchester to host Davis Cup Finals group

LONDON (Reuters) - Manchester will host one of the groups in the Davis Cup Finals in September, the Lawn Tennis Association confirmed on Tuesday.

Four groups will be staged in four different cities with eight teams advancing to the knockout rounds in Malaga.

Britain, who last won the title by beating Belgium in 2015, are one of the 16 teams through to the Finals after beating Colombia in a qualifier in February.

Manchester is the fifth different city to host the Davis Cup in Britain in 10 years, joining Coventry, Glasgow, London and Birmingham.

The group stage takes place from Sept. 12-17 with the draw in Malaga on Wednesday. Canada are the reigning champions.

(Reporting by Martyn Herman; Editing by Christian Radnedge)

Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Tennis

Tennis-Sabalenka roars into French Open second round
Tennis-French Open starts under sunny skies at Roland Garros
Tennis-Ruud banking on French Open experience for deep run after 'up and down' season
Tennis-Djokovic owes growth of his career to 'biggest rival' Nadal
Tennis-Sabalenka ignores Ukrainian 'hate' with eyes on number one at Roland Garros
WTA roundup: Elina Svitolina wins title in France
ATP roundup: Arthur Fils becomes youngest to win title in Lyon
French teen Arthur Fils advances to final at Lyon
Recharged Elina Svitolina reaches title match in France
Tennis: Bumper US entrants braced for assault on Paris

Others Also Read