Outgoing president Nasarudin says thank you for a successfultenure

PETALING JAYA: A new president will be at the helm of the Paralympic Council of Malaysia (PCM) by the end of this month.

Incumbent SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin (pic) has announced that he will not be seeking re-election as president at the upcoming PCM Annual General Meeting on June 29.

Nasarudin has been the president since January 2016 when he was approached by then Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin to take up the post.

During his tenure, the Malaysian para athletes created history with their best-ever outings at the Rio de Janeiro Paralympics in 2016 and Asian Para Games in Jakarta last year.

“I am honoured that the contingent achieved their first-ever gold medals at the 2016 Rio Paralympics which saw the team winning three gold and one bronze medals,” Nasarudin said in a statement yesterday.

At the Rio Paralympics, Ridzuan Puzi brought home Malaysia’s first-ever gold medal in the men’s T36 100m dash and broke the Paralympic record previously held by Ukraine’s Roman Pavlyk since the 2008 Beijing Paralympics.

Ziyad Zolkefli hurled his way to gold by winning the men’s F20 shot putt event with a new world record while Abdul Latif Romly secured Malaysia’s third gold medal in the men’s T20 long jump, breaking his own world record thrice on the same day.

The trio were handsomely rewarded with residential suites at Trion888 Equine Park and a Kia Sportage each while bronze medallist Siti Noor Radiah Ismail received a Kia Rio. The rewards were cumulatively valued at RM1.5mil.

“The following year, I was humbled to be appointed deputy chairman of the organising committee for the Asean Para Games in Kuala Lumpur.

In that Games, Malaysia achieved second position with a record medal haul of 90 golds, 85 silvers and 84 bronze medals – the highest overall medal tally at 258 medals.

“PCM also secured several corporate sponsorships amounting close to RM300,000 to prepare the Malaysian contingent for the 2018 Asian Para Games in Jakarta. It was there that Malaysia bagged 17 gold medals in their best-ever Asian Para Games outing. Abdul Latif and Ridzuan did Malaysia proud again by setting new world records for the men’sT20 long jump and men’s T36 100m respectively.

Ridzuan recently received the 2018 Best Asian Male Para Athlete award from the Asian Paralympic Committee (APC) in recognition of his excellent performances.

“I am happy another rising star athlete Suresh Selvathamby etched his name in Malaysian sports history recently by becoming the country’s first world para archery champion at the World Archery Para Championships in Hertogenbosch, Holland.

“I want to thank the PCM patron Tun Jeanne Abdullah, my deputy president John Ng Keng Chuan and all council members for their support in making these past three years amongst the best for the PCM.

“To all the sponsors who have come forward to support us, I thank you for being there every step of the way.

“My appreciation goes to the previous Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin for upholding equal opportunities, incentives and rewards for para athletes.

“The national para contingent have since enjoyed recognition on par with able-bodied athletes for their achievements and sacrifices,” said Nasarudin, who is also the group executive chairman and chief executive officer of Naza Corporation Holdings.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy