Team Europe retain fourball EurAsia Cup

SHAH ALAM: Team Europe have retained the EurAsia Cup in fourball after dominating eight of the 12 singles matches on Sunday to beat Team Asia 14-10.

Belgian Thomas Pieters sealed the triumph by beating South Korean An Byeong-hun one-up in the eighth match of the day, securing the visitors an unassailable lead at 12½-7½.

The other seven victories that led Team Europe to their second title in three editions were earned by Alex Noren, Tommy Fleetwood, Henrik Stenson, Rafa Cabrera-Bello, Bernd Wiesberger, Alexander Levy and Tyrrell Hatton.

Team Asia who led 6½-5½ after the fourball and foursomes sessions, could only claim an early point from Thai Poom Saksansin who upset world No. 14 Paul Casey of England one-up in the second match.

Yuta Ikeda of Japan and Li Haotong of China were the other two victorious members, but their wins in the last two dead rubber ties were just a consolation.

Kang Sung-hoon halved the match with Matthew Fitzpatrick for the only all-square result of the day.

Malaysia's Gavin Kyle Green lost 4&3 to Cabrera-Bello while Nicholas Fung while Nicholas went down 4&2 to Noren.



Alex Noren (Swe) bt Nicholas Fung 4&2; Rafa Cabrera-Bello (Spa) bt Gavin Kyle Green (Mas) 4&3; Tommy Fleetwood (Eng) bt S.S.P Chawrasia (Ind) 2&1; Paul Casey (Eng) lost to Poom Saksansin (Tha) 1-up; Henrik Stenson (Swe) bt Hideto Tanihara (Jpn) 2&1; Bernd Wiesberger (Aut) bt Phachara Khongwatmai (Mas) 2&1; Alexander Levy (Fra) bt Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Tha) 3&1; Thomas Pieters (Bel) bt An Byeong-hun (Kor) 1-up; Tyrrell Hatton (Eng) bt Anirban Lahiri (Ind) 2&1; Matthew Fitzpatrick (Eng) halved with Kang Sung-hoon (Kor); Paul Dunne lost to Li Haotong (Chn) 3&1; Ross Fisher (Eng) lost to Yuta Ikeda (Jpn) 1-up.