Otonomos Mandrake III victorious in Raja Muda Selangor regatta

Turning the tide: Otonomos Mandrake III in action during the second race from Pangkor to Penang in the Raja Muda Selangor International Regatta yesterday. — RMSIR/RSYC/Guy Nowell

PETALING JAYA: Otonomos Mandrake III have bounced back to win the second race of the Raja Muda Selangor International Regatta (RMSIR) from Pangkor to Penang.

The Fred Kinmonth and Nick Burns-led Hong Kong yacht, which finished third in the opening race from Klang to Pangkor, came out tops in the five-team Class 1 contest.

Gordon Ketelbey’s Ramrod were second while first-race winners Windsikher, skippered by Sarab Jeet Singh, came in third.

Windsikher are the defending champions of the RMSIR. They also won in 2015.

In Class 2, Richard Barnhurst’ FastTrack of Australia sailed to the top of the division ahead of Malaysia’s Zuhal, led by Mashyuri Rahmat.

The Class 3 was won by Fujin, led by David Fuller.

The 28th RMSIR kicked off last Saturday and will finish in Langkawi on Saturday.

This year’s regatta has attracted participation from 31 boats from Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Australia and Japan.



Class 1: Otonomos Mandrake III (Fred Kinmonth and Nick Burns), 2. Ramrod (Gordon Ketelbey), 3. Windsikher (Sarab Jeet Singh).

Class 2: 1. FastTrack (Richard Barnhurst), 2. Zuhal (Mashyuri Rahmat) 3. Antipodes (Geoff Hill).

Class 3: 1. Fujin (David Fuller) 11’09, 2. Insanity (John Kara), 3. Jing Jing (Jeff Harris) 


Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 0
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Others Also Read