Nur Dayana stuns favourites to win 10m air rifle individual gold

SUBANG: Youngster Nur Dayana Hijrah Danial Ng of Penang stunned the favourites to win the women’s 10m air rifle individual gold medal in the National Shooting Association of Malaysia’s Ally T. H. Ong Trophy at the Subang Shooting Range yesterday.

Competing against the likes of Muslifah Zulkifli, Halisa Hamed and Olympian Nur Suryani Mohd Taibi, the 16-year-old Nur Dayana showed maturity and control beyond her age to shoot down a 20 series total of 205.1 to clinch her first gold in a senior competition.

Pahang’s Nur Ayuni Farhana Abdul Halim took the silver with a 203.8 total while Armed Forces’ Nur Suryani accumulated 181.3 points for the bronze.

“It was an amazing win for me ... a little bit unexpected actually,” said Nur Dayana.

“It’s nerve-wrecking to compete with the seniors. So, I went into the final without thinking too much. I just wanted to perform to my best of ability,” said Nur Dayana who recently joined the national development squad.

Nur Dayana, who took up shooting only two years ago, said she was unperturbed by the new rules adopted by the NSAM for the championships.

“I quite like the new rules. It makes the competition more open. Now anyone can win,” added the Bukit Jalil Sport School student.

There was also joy for youngster Choo Wen Yan of Johor on the final day of the championships. He bounced back from his disappointing seventh-place finish in the men’s 10m air pistol on Saturday to bag the 50m pistol title.

The 20-year-old shot 182.5 to take the gold medal ahead of Pahang’s Abdul Hadi Abdul Malek (179) and Armed Forces’ Denis Ejoh @ Ajoh (160.4).

After four days of competition, Forces topped the standings with a 23-medal haul of 13 golds, five silvers and five bronzes. Selangor finished second with a 4-2-6 tally followed by Perak on 3-0-1.



50m pistol

Individual: 1. Choo Wen Yan (Joh) 182.5, 2. Abdul Hadi Abdul Malik (Pah) 179, 3. Denis Ejoh @ Ajoh (For) 160.4.

Team: Selangor (Ahmad Zhafri Zamil-Tan Tong Tat-Noor Aizam Nu’qman Azlan) 1,539, 2. Pahang (Abdul Hadi Abdul Malik-Mohd Muhaithir Johari-Luqman Nul Hakim) 1,538 (won on countback), 3. Armed Forces (Denis Ejoh @ Ajoh-Alais Neel Sulong-Mohd Rahimi May Yasin) 1,538.


10m air rifle

Individual: 1. Nur Dayana Hijrah Danial Ng (Pen) 205.1, 2. Nur Ayuni Farhana Abdul Halim (Pah) 203.8, 3. Nur Suryani Mohd Taibi (For) 181.3.

Team: 1. Armed Forces (Muslifah Zulkifli-Haslisa Hamed-Nur Suryani Mohd Taibi) 1,173, 2. Malacca (Nur Rahimah Mahadi-Aida Natasha Rasip-Nur Farah Afiqah Mohd Taufekh) 1,159, 3. Pahang (Nur Ayuni Farhana Abdul Halim-Nur Fadhilah Ahmad Kamal- Fatima Azzahra Jamaluddin) 1,158.

25m pistol


Gold medal match: Wahidah Ismail (Ked) bt Alia Sazana Azahari (Ter) 8-4; Bronze medal match: Bibiana Ng (Pol) bt Norerffani Abdul Malick (Pah) 8-4.

Team: Armed Forces (Siti Nur Masitha Mohd Badrin-Joseline Cheah-Fatmahwati Zakaria) 1,687, 2. Police (Bibiana Ng-Siti Zawiah Mohamed- Sarifah Zalina Syed Zirazilah) 1,681, 3. Selangor (Ishvari Jahnava-Noor Izzati Jasni-Nur Zunaira Zakaria) 1,681.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Sport , shooting


Stories You'll Enjoy