Leipheimer cuts Horner lead in Tour of California

SOLVANG, California (AP) — Dave Zabriskie won the time trial and three-time race winner Levi Leipheimer finished second, cutting teammate Chris Horner's overall lead to 38 seconds after Friday's sixth stage of the Tour of California.

Zabriskie, the Garmin-Cervelo rider who has finished second overall three times in the event, completed the 24-kilometer (15-mile) course in 30 minutes, 35.92 seconds.

Zabriskie isn't a threat for the overall title. He's 15th, 4:04 back.

"I wanted to leave the race with something," said Zabriskie, a time trial stage winner this year at the Tour of Romandie and former race leader in the Tour de France. "So, I am happy."

Leipheimer, riding for RadioShack, finished in 30:49.80, and HTC-Highroad's Teejay Van Garderen was third in 31:15.94.

Horner, who took the lead with a solo mountaintop win in the fourth stage, was sixth — 50 seconds behind the winner. Horner began the day with a 1:15 lead over Leipheimer.

"I felt my lead was safe," said Horner, at 10th the top U.S. finisher last year in the Tour de France."I just didn't want to throw the bike down in some gravel,"

The seventh stage Saturday is a 121-kilometer (76-mile) mountain leg from Claremont to Mount Baldy.

Results Friday from the sixth stage of the Tour of California, a 24-kilometer (15-mile) individual time trial.

1. David Zabriskie (Garmin-Cervelo), United States, 30 minutes, 35.92 seconds.

2. Levi Leipheimer, (RadioShack), United States, 30:49.80.

3. Tejay Van Garderen (HTC-Highroad), United States, 31:15.94.

4. Peter Velits (HTC-Highroad), United States, 31:23.54.

5. Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank), Netherlands, 31:24.48.

6. Chris Horner (RadioShack), United States, 31:26.64.

7. Jakob Fuglsang (Leopard-Trek), Denmark, 31:28.69.

8. Jeremy Vennell (Bissell), New Zealand, 31:34.08.

9. Rory Sutherland (United Healthcare), Australia, 31:34.51.

10. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Cervelo), United States, 31:36.06.

Overall Standings

1. Chris Horner (RadioShack), United States, 17 hours, 17 minutes, 1 second.

2. Levi Leipheimer (RadioShack), United States, 38 seconds behind.

3. Rory Sutherland (United Healthcare), Australia, 1:38 behind

4. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Cervelo), United States, 1:39 behind.

5. Tom Danielson (Garmin-Cervelo), United States, 1:44 behind.

6. Tejay Van Garderen (HTC-Highroad), United States, 1:54 behind.

7. Linus Gerdemann (Leopard-Trek) Germany, 2:26 behind.

8. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Cervelo), Canada, 2:27 behind.

9. Laurens Ten Dam (Rabobank), Netherlands, 2:43 behind.

10. Andy Schleck (Leopard-Trek), Luxembourg, 2:54 behind.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3


Stories You'll Enjoy