Tengku Abdullah and Annuar elected as FAM deputy presidents

  • Other Sport
  • Sunday, 01 Aug 2010

PETALING JAYA: Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah, the Tengku Mahkota of Pahang, easily won one of the two deputy president posts at the FA of Malaysia congress here yesterday.

The 51-year-old, a member of the FIFA technical and development committee and a vice-president of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) executive committee, amassed 29 votes to finish first in the five-man contest.

Tan Sri Annuar Musa, the Kelantan FA (Kafa) president and a former Youth and Sports Minister, was the other deputy president voted in for the new term from 2010-2014. He garnered 23 votes.

The three who lost were incumbent Datuk Redzuan Sheikh Ahmad, FAM vice-president Datuk Che Mat Jusoh and Datuk Mokhtar Ahmad, the Selangor FA deputy president.

Incumbent Khairy Jamaluddin, who is the Umno Youth chief, did not seek re-election.

The president post was not contested as Sultan Ahmad Shah was returned unopposed when nominations closed on July 18. He has been holding the post since 1984.

Tengku Abdullah, who is also the president of the Malaysian Hockey Federation (MHF), said it would not be problem for him to serve two associations at the same time.

“They are two different sports, but I love football more,” said Tengku Abdullah, who quit the FAM deputy president post in July 2007.

Annuar said he would be a team player.

“I’m receptive to fresh ideas and ways to elevate the game in the country. We need a collective input from all parties concerned,” added Annuar.

In the eight-man contest for the four vice-president posts, both the Selangor candidates – Datuk Subahan Kamal (28 votes) and Datuk Hamidin Mohd Amin (27) – were voted in. The other two winners were incumbent Datuk Afandy Hamzah (20) and Datuk Seri Abdullah Hishan (19).

The eight exco members elected were Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan (33 votes), Datuk Astaman Abdul Aziz (32), Mejar Rani Abdul Rahim (31), S. Sivasundaram (31), Dr Hamdan Mohd Khalib (29), Datuk Osman Salleh (24), Rosmadi Ismail (21) and Datuk Jeferey Low Han Chau (he defeated Datuk Sri Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahman of Pahang in the second round after both were tied in eighth spot).

Thirteen candidates, including former national team captain Datuk Soh Chin Aun, took part in the contest.

THE FAM Exco (2010-2014)

President: Sultan Ahmad Shah (Pah).

Deputy presidents: Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah (Pah), Tan Sri Annuar Musa (Kel).

Vice-presidents: Datuk Subahan Kamal (Sel), Datuk Hamidin Mohd Amin (Sel), Datuk Afandi Hamzah (Kel), Datuk Seri Abdullah Hishan (Per).

Exco members: Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan (Malays FA), Datuk Astaman Abdul Aziz (Kul), Mejar Rani Abdul Rahim (For), S. Sivasundram (MISC), Dr Hamdan Mohd Khalib (Ked), Datuk Osman Salleh (Pol), Rosmadi Ismail (Kel), Datuk Jeferey Low Han Chau (MCFA).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3


Across The Star Online