Six candidates vying for FAM’s two deputy president posts

  • Other Sport
  • Monday, 19 Jul 2010

PETALING JAYA: The battle for the two deputy president posts will be hotly contested at the FA of Malaysia (FAM) congress on July 31.

A total of six candidates have been nominated for the posts. They are the Tengku Mahkota of Pahang, Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah, incumbent Datuk Redzuan Sheikh Ahmad, FAM vice-president Datuk Che Mat Jusoh, newcomers Datuk Mokhtar Ahmad, who is the Selangor FA deputy president, Kelantan FA (Kafa) president Tan Sri Annuar Musa and Perlis FA president Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim.

The FAM general secretary, Datuk Azzuddin Ahmad, announced the candidates contesting for posts at a press conference at the Wisma FAM in Kelana Jaya yesterday.

He said that although Datuk Seri Shahidan had said that he was withdrawing from the contest, there had been no official letter from the former Perlis Mentri Besar.

Azzuddin said that the exco would be the new governing body of the FAM, replacing the council, and this was provided in the new FAM constitution in line with the “statute of FIFA”.

“The exco will comprise 15 people elected at the congress – one president, two deputies, four vice-presidents and eight exco members,” he said.

Azzuddin said that the secretary and treasurer of the FAM would be by appointment.

Tengku Abdullah, who is also the Malaysian Hockey Federation (MHF) president, will bid to make a comeback after quitting the post in July 2007 while incumbent Khairy Jamaluddin, who is the Umno Youth chief, is not seeking re-election.

Sultan Ahmad Shah has been returned unopposed as the president for a 13th consecutive term since 1984.

Deputy president (two posts): Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah, Datuk Redzuan Sheikh Ahmad, Datuk Che Mat Jusoh, Tan Sri Annuar Musa, Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim, Datuk Mokhtar Ahmad.

Vice-president (four posts): Datuk Afandi Hamzah, Datuk Seri Raja Ahmad Zainuddin Raja Omar. Datuk S. Subramaniam, Datuk Hamid Mohd Amin, Datuk Seri Zahrain Mohd Hashim, Datuk Seri Abdullah Hishan, Datuk Subahan Kamal, Datuk Lawrence Gimbang.

Exco members (eight posts): Tan Sri Mohd Noor Abdul Rahim, Datuk Sri Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahman, Dr Hamdan Mohd Khalib, Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan, Datuk Jeferey Low Han Chau, Datuk Astaman Abdul Aziz, Datuk Ibrahim Shamsuddin, Datuk Osman Salleh, Datuk Soh Chin Aun, Rosmadi Ismail, Rani Abdul Rahim, Wan Mohd Nizam Wan Omar, S. Sivasundram.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3


Across The Star Online