Hafizh, Elly top practice timesheets in Alor Setar

PETALING JAYA: Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah and Elly Idzlianizar Ilias clocked the fastest times to share the lead in the CP130 category in the practice session of the opening leg of the Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championships at the Darulaman Stadium in Alor Setar yesterday.

Hafizh, of Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Raceline, and Elly, representing Shell Advance Yamaha Maju Motor, topped the timesheets with 48.109 in their respective races (CP130 A & B).

Hafizh set his in Lap 8 while Elly did it in Lap 18.

Ahmad Fuad Baharudin, of Petronas Sprinta Yamaha AHM, was third fastest in 48.113.

The 16-year-old Hafizh said it was a good start for him. He, however, admitted that the competition had just begun because of the quality of the riders, including Elly, Ahmad Fuad, Ahmad Fazli Sham, Mohd Zamri Baba and team-mate Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman.

“These guys are seasoned campaigners and have loads of experience. It is going to be touch-and-go because our lap times are quite close,” said Hafizh.

Elly, who switched from Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Ah Hong to Shell Advance Yamaha Maju Motor, said he was surprised by his strong performance yesterday.

Mohd Iskandar Raduan came out tops in the CP115 category. The Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Raceline rider, who moved from the Expert class last season, clocked 48.647.

Timed practice results

CP130: 1. Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Raceline) and Elly Idzlianizar Ilias (Shell Advance Yamaha Maju Motor) both 48.109, 3. Ahmad Fuad Baharudin (Petronas Sprinta Yamaha AHM) 48.113, 4. Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Raceline) 48.154, 5. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Shell Advance Yamaha Maju Motor) 48.233;

CP115: 1. Md Iskandar Raduan (Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Raceline) 48.647, 2. Md Adli Salihin (Motul Yamaha YY Pang) 48.714, 3. Md Rozaiman Md Said (Motul Yamaha YY Pang) 49.279, 4. Zaidy Md Zaifaizal (Motul Yamaha YY Pang) 49.292, 5. Md Ramdan Md Rosli (Petronas Sprinta Yamaha AHM) 49.600.

Wira: 1. Md Azhar Abd Jalil (Motul Yamaha YY Pang) 50.690, 2. Md Adib Rosley (Motul Yamaha YY Pang) 50.696, 3. Ahmad Afif Amran (Modenas Forty One Racing) 51.140, 4. Zulsyafiz Rosli (MOS Yamaha Racing) 51.392, 5. Luqman Shakiemi Hakim (Modenas Forty One Racing) 51.573.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights


Stories You'll Enjoy