The four girls to drive for Red Bull

  • Other Sport
  • Tuesday, 02 Oct 2007

PETALING JAYA: The search for the talented female drivers is over with the announcement of the four winners of the Red Bull Female Driver Search yesterday. 

Norbaizura Ruslan, Leona Chin, Puteri Ayu Jasmin and Norlina Johor were selected after three stints of intensive driving programmes at the Sepang International Circuit, Port Dickson and Kuala Lumpur over the past two months.  

The stints involved 12 Malaysian female drivers selected from a pool of 600 hopefuls to form a Red Bull race team for the Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race next year. AMN Motorsport co-coordinated the programme. 

Fast girls: The Red Bull Female Driver Search winners (from left) Norlina Johor, Leona Chin, PuteriAyu Jasmin and Norbaizura Ruslan.

Marketing director of AMN Motorsport Najmi Razak said: “We were pleasantly surprised with the level of talent out there. Choosing the final four from the 12 finalists was very tough. The winners demonstrated immense finesse and skill.” 

The four selected will be trained and groomed by the team's professional instructors and get the chance to be mentored by Red Bull X1R Racing Team drivers – celebrity Deanna Yusoff, Philippa Yoong, Hiroko Nakamura and Nurul Alis Kiki. 

The team have been taking part in the MME since 2003 and their best finish was sixth in 2005. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across the site