Defending champ Ali sets the pace in Expert event

PETALING JAYA: Defending champion Mohd Suhadi Ali Rahmat, who is desperately trying to end his winless run, set the fastest time in the Expert category in Round 7 of the Petronas Sprinta AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship at Kawasan Perindustrian Kamunting Raya, Taiping yesterday.  

The Shell Advance Maju Motor rider clocked 45.199 to beat his team-mate Ahmad Fazli Sham, who came in second fastest with 45.207. Third fastest was Ahmad Fuad Baharudin of Petronas Sprinta Raceline who stopped the clock at 45.443 in yesterday's qualifying session.  

“We have found the right suspension and sprocket setting that suit my style. If tomorrow’s weather is bright and sunny, I will maintain this setting for the final race. If it is wet then I will use the Kuching-leg setting. I hope I will make the right decision on which set-up to use,” said the 22-year old rider.  

“I foresee both Fazli and his younger brother Ahmad Fazrul Sham will give me a tough time. I will give both of them a run for their money despite racing on their home ground. No team order has been given and we will all go out fighting for the chequered flag,” added Suhadi who last won a race in 2005 in Kluang, Johor.  

In the Novice category, Mohd Edzuan Abdul Ghani of Motul KMC YY Pang lapped in the fastest time in the timed practice session with 49.581. Kota Kinabalu race winner Mohd Affendi Rosli was second fastest with 49.905 while Mohd Faiz Nawawi did not let his home fans down by setting the third fastest time of 50.010.  

The race at Kawasan Perindustrian Kamunting Raya, Taiping will flag off at 9am today.  


Timed Practice  

Expert: 1. Mohd Suhadi Ali Rahmat (Shell Advance Maju) 45.199, 2. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Shell Advance Maju) 45.207, 3. Ahmad Fuad Baharudin (Petronas Sprinta Raceline) 45.443, 4. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Shell Advance Maju) 45.484. 

Novice: 1. Mohd Edzuan Abd Ghani (Motul KMC YY Pang) 49.581, 2. Mohd Affendi Rosli (Harian Metro SCK Racing) 49.905, 3. Mohd Faiz Nawawi (Shell Advance Maju) 50.010, 4. Elly Idzliakmal Ilias (Petronas Sprinta Ah Hong) 50.147.  

WIRA epg: 1. Mohd Emir Firdaus Hassan (Motul KMC YY Pang) 50.160, 2. Abdul Muhaimin Roslan (Shell Advance Maju Motor) 51:256, 3. Mohd Adli Salihin 51.807, 4. Mohd Faiz Md Noor 51.876. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy