Wira Dani and rival Dilantha on front row

SEPANG: Wira Dani Daim blazed the newly re-surfaced Sepang South Circuit to clinch pole position for the opening race of the Supercar Championship in Round Two of the Malaysian Super Series (MSS) yesterday. 

Driving the superlight Radical SR3, Wira Dani clocked 1:04.818 while Sri Lankan Dilantha Malagamuwa will share the front row with a time of 1:06.039.  

Both drivers are the joint leaders on 35 points in the overall standings.  

“I will make sure my start goes perfectly tomorrow,” said Wira Dani, the Round 1 winner.  

Eddie Lew will start on pole position for the Supersaloon race after clocking 1:09.754 in his 2000cc Honda Integra. 

The drivers will compete in two races today with the grid positions for Race 2 to be determined by the drivers’ results in Race 1.  


Supercar: 1. Wira Dani Daim (Radical SR3) 1:04.818, 2. Dilantha Malagamuwa (Porsche 996) 1:06.039, 3. Peter Hills (Mazda RX7) 1:07.468, 4. Angus Kirkwood (Radical SR3) 1:08.929. 

Supersaloon: 1. Eddie Lew (Honda Integra DC5) 1:09.754, 2. Wong Yew Choong (Honda Integra) 1:10.064, 3. Sharjihan Ghouse (Honda Integra) 1:11.220, 4. Soh Kee Koon (Honda Integra DC5) 1:11.931. 

Supersixteen: 1. Harry Chai (Honda Civic EK) 1:14.026, 2. Wong Yew Choong (Honda Civic EK) 1:14.256, 3. Ian Lee (Honda Civic EK) 1:14.261, 4. Kelvin Low (Honda Civic EK) 1:14.668. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy