Fazli pips brother at the wire for Expert win

PETALING JAYA: Ahmad Fazrul Sham let slip an easy win and instead allowed elder brother Ahmad Fazli to sneak in to win the Expert race in Round 6 of the Petronas Sprinta AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship at the State Stadium in Kuching yesterday. 

Ahmad Fazli overtook his brother and Shell Harian Metro Maju teammate at the dead to win by just 0.034sec. Ahmad Fazli clocked 9:19.474 over the 12-lap race. 

Pole setter Zulhelmi Ahmad settled for third place in a time of 9:22.370.  

“I am not disappointed for not taking the chequered flag even though I was dominating the race right from the beginning. Nevertheless, I am happy for my brother. It is great to be on the podium with him,” said 21-year-old Ahmad Fazrul. 

HEAVY IMPACT: Mohd Ilham Kamal (left) falls after a collision with Noor FirdausAbd Moin during the race in Kuching yesterday. – STARpic BY RAPAEE KAWI

As for Ahmad Fazli, he was surprised to have won.  

“Fazrul was in control and I thought he will be taking the chequered flag but he slowed down during the final lap and both of us crossed the finish line almost at the same time. However, I am glad to taste my first victory this season. I came so close to winning in the previous race at Kota Kinabalu last week,” said the 24-year-old. 

Despite finishing second, Ahmad Fazrul still leads the championship standings with 105 points after six rounds, 23 ahead of Zulhelmi.  

Third in the standings is Mohd Suhadi Ali Rahmat with 78 points while Ahmad Fazli rose to sixth on 45 points.  

In the Novice category, Mohd Zamri Baba won his fourth race of the season The Petronas Sprinta Ah Hong ace took early command and dictated the pace throughout the 10-lap race to emerge winner with a total time of 10:03.249.  

Mohd Edzuan Abd Ghani (UTM Racing) came in second in 10:07.093 while Mahadhir Raduan settled for third placing in 10:10.221.  

The next stop of the championship will be at Kangar, Perlis on Aug 20.  





Expert: 1. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Shell Harian Metro Maju) 9:19.474, 2. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Shell Harian Metro) 9:19.508, 3. Zulhelmi Ahmad (Petronas Sprinta Ah Hong) 9:22.370. 

Novice: 1. Mohd Zamri Baba (Petronas Sprinta Ah Hong) 10:03.249, 2. Mohd Edzuan And Ghani (UTM Racing) 10:07.093, 3. Mahadhir Raduan 10:10.221. 

WIRA Epg: 1. Mohd Adli Salihin (Momos Racing) 8:27.377, 2. Ridwan Bakri (MOS Century KMR SCK) 8:39.336, 3. Mohd Rashidy Abd Rahim (SKF Enduro BMW) 8:42.351.  


Expert: 1. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 105, 2. Zulhelmi Ahmad (Petronas Sprinta Ah Hong) 82, 3. Mohd Suhadi Ali Rahmat (Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 78. 

Team: 1. Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor 1 182, 2. Petronas Sprinta Ah Hong 113, 3. MOS Century KMR SCK 103, 4. Petronas Sprinta Raceline 88. 

Novice: 1. Mohd Zamri Baba (Petronas Sprinta Ah Hong) 132, 2. Mohd Rafie Mohd Naser (Motul YY Pang) 96, 3. Mohd Iskandar Raduan (Petronas Sprinta Raceline) 81.  

WIRA epg: 1. Ridwan Bakri (MOS Century KMR SCK) 130, 2. Mohd Emir Firdaus Hassan (Motul YY Pang) 106, 3. Mohd Afiq Azahar (UTM Racing) 76, 4. Mohd Adli Salihin (Momos Racing Team) 75. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Others Also Read