SAB College’s inclusion leaves new clubs in a lurch

KUALA LUMPUR: The Malaysian Hockey Federation's (MHF) management committee have agreed to allow Johor’s Sultan Abu Bakar College to compete in Division Two of the Malaysia Junior Hockey League (MJHL). 

This brings the total number of teams in the MJHL to 19, one more than last year. 

Division One will have nine teams while the rest will play in the lower division. But SAB College’s last-minute inclusion means that the four new teams – Royal Military College, Clifford School Kuala Kangsar, SMK Agama Perlis and Impian Mutiara Penang – may have to play in a qualifying tournament. 

MHF competitions committee chairman Datuk Seri Bashir Ahmad said they would make a final decision regarding the four new teams in a few days’ time. 

“SAB were late entrants but the management committee felt that they should be allowed to play since they have shown interest. It is just that they could not complete the paperwork before the registration closed on Monday,” Bashir said.  

“We will try and keep all the teams.” 

The teams in Division One are Bukit Jalil Sports School, Tenaga Nasional, SM Datuk Taha, Old La Sallians Association of Klang (Olak), Petaling Jaya Municipal Council (MPPJ), Bukit Jalil SS Juniors, Anderson, SAS Pahang and Malacca High School. 

The teams in Division Two are Bandar Penawar Sports School, PISC-Nur Insafi, MSS Perlis, Penang Free School, TBS Tampin, Royal Military College (RMC), SMK Agama Perlis, Mutiara Impian Penang, Clifford College Kuala Kangsar and Sultan Abu Bakar College. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Others Also Read