Motor racing: Norizman is youngest expert champion

SEPANG: Twenty-year old Norizman Ismail was crowned the youngest expert champion although Ahmad Fuad Baharuddin won the final round of the Petronas Sprinta AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship at the Sepang International Circuit (North Track) yesterday. 

The SKF Enduro SCK Racing rider claimed the title despite failing to make the starting line-up for the final race due to mechanical problems.  

But thanks to his lucky star, Norizman who has a 18-point advantage over closest rivals Wazi Abdul Hamid and Shahrul Nizam Tajuddin from the Shell KF Yamaha team, claimed the crown as the duo failed to finish on the podium. 

Norizman accumulated a total of 107 points, while Wazi who finished the race fourth is second overall in the standings with 102 points. Shahrul who did not start the race is third overall with 89 points.  

“I was really disappointed that I can’t ride in the final race. I never expected such an incident to happen to me on the very last and crucial race. 

“I intended to play safe in Sepang but I couldn’t do anything about it. I just watched the race and kept my fingers crossed that Wazi or Shahrul would not finish second in the race,” said Norizman.  



Expert: 1. Ahmad Fuad Baharudin (Eveready-Raceline) 13:23.817; 2. Rosnizam Mohd Noor (MMRW Yamaha) 13:31.651; 3. Ahmad Azhar Hamid 13:31.742; 4. Wazi Abdul Hamid (Shell Advance KF Yamaha) 13:47.344; 5. Md Kanafi Kamaruddin 13:47.624 . 

Final standings: 1. Norizman Ismail (SKF Enduro SCK Racing) 107 points, 2. Wazi Abdul Hamid (Shell KF Yamaha) 102 points, 3. Shahrul Nizam Tajuddin (Shell KF Yamaha) 89 points, 4. Ahmad Fuad Baharudin (Eveready-Raceline) 82 points, 5. Zulhelmi Ahmad (MOS AH Hong Yamaha) 73 points.  

Team standings : 1. Shell KF Yamaha (191 points), 2. SKF Enduro SCK Racing (146 points), 3. Eveready-Raceline (103 points), 4. MOS Ah Hong Yamaha (82 points), 5. Petronas Sprinta Racing (100 points). 

Novice: 1. Mohd Hanizam Mohd Sanusi (Petronas Sprinta Racing) 13:00.159; 2. Mohd Zanardi Azahar (Motul YY Pang) 13:00.188; 3. Mohd Noorfakar Mohd Fuad (Petronas Sprinta Racing) 13:00.518; 4. Suhaimi Selamat (Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 13:10.468; 5. Syed Al-Imran 13:18.527.  

Final standings: 1. Mohd Zanardi Azahar (Motul YY Pang) 121 points, 2. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Team Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 104 points, 3. Mohd Hanizam Mohd Sanusi (Petronas Sprinta Racing) 100 points, 4. Mohd Noorfakar Mohd Fuad (Petronas Sprinta Racing) 80 points, 5. Johari Rosly (Shell KF Yamaha) 77 points.  

Wira EpG: 1. Mohd Iskandar Raduan (Eveready-Raceline) 12:28.840; 2. Mohd Rashid Abd Razak (Eveready-Raceline) 12:33.485; 3. Mohd Nazim Abd Latip 13:11.600; 4. Nor Shariman Mohd (Total Elf Beng Racing) 13:12.030; 5. Mohd Emir Firdaus Hasan 13:12.482.  

Final standings: 1. Mohd Iskandar Raduan (Eveready-Raceline) 165 points, 2. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Shell Harian Metro Maju) 96 points, 3. Mohd Faiz Nawawi (SKF Enduro SCK Racing) 71 points, 4. Md Firdaus Jamil (MOS Ah Hong Yamaha) 66 points, 5.Md Rashid Abd Razak (Eveready-Raceline) 54 points. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy