Rosnizam denies Ahmad Fuad first win of the season

CELEBRATION: Rosnizam Mohd Noor jubilatesafter beating Ahmad Fuad Baharuddin in theexperts class yesterday.

KANGAR: Rosnizam Mohd Noor dashed Ahmad Fuad Baharudin's hopes of a first win this season in the experts category of the Petronas Sprinta AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championships at the Stadium Utama here yesterday. 

In the penultimate round of the eight-round championships, the MMRW Yamaha rider adapted well to the wet conditions to complete the 12-lap race on the 1.234km track in 9:41.618. 

Eveready-Raceline's Fuad settled for second place in 9:41.824 while Ahmad Fazli Sham of Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor was third in 9:46.198. 

The 28-year-old Rosnizam started the race from the third row of the grid but moved to second place after the first lap.  

He snatched the lead from Fuad in the ninth lap and held his nerves to keep Fuad at bay up to the chequered flag.  

“I just can’t believe that I won the race here. The team and I went through a lot of ups and downs this season and we faced one problem after another,” said Rosnizam, who was a privateer last season. 

“Finally, we have something to celebrate. I am hoping for the same results in the final round in Sepang (on Dec 4).” 

In the championships standings, SKF Enduro SCK Racing's Norizman Ismail is still the leader. He collected four points yesterday to take his tally to 107. Shell KF Yamaha's Wazi Abdul Hamid is second on 89 points. 

Petronas Sprinta Racing's Mohd Hanizam Mohd Sanusi was in his element in the novices category, winning the race in 10:18.955. 




Experts: 1. Rosnizam Mohd Noor (MMRW Yamaha) 9:41.618, 2. Ahmad Fuad Baharudin (Eveready-Raceline) 9:41.824, 3. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 9:46.198, 4. Mohd Suhadi Ali Rahmat (Petronas Sprinta) 9:55.283. 

Leading standings: 1. Norizman Ismail (SKF Enduro SCK Racing) 107pts, 2. Wazi Abdul Hamid (Shell KF Yamaha); Shahrul Nizam Tajuddin (Shell KF Yamaha) 89, 4. Mohd Suhadi 70. 

Novices: 1. Mohd Hanizam Mohd Sanusi (Petronas Sprinta) 10:18.955, 2. Mohd Zanardi Azahar (Motul YY Pang) 10:20.309, 3. Noor Suhail Kamarudin (Total Elf Beng) 10:27.889, 4. Suhaimi Selamat (Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 10:38.558. 

Leading standings: 1. Mohd Zanardi 101, 2. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 95, 3. Mohd Hanizam 75, 4. Zaiermanhady Zaifaizal (Hi-Rev Malaysia) 68. 

WIRA EpG: 1. Mohd Iskandar Raduan (Eveready-Raceline) 9:10.104, 2. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 9:13.085, 3. Mohd Izuaf Sirun (VPR Speed Pro T-Trax) 9:14.902, 4. Mohd Ali Imran Dawood (Motul YY Pang) 9:16.807. 

Leadingt standings: 1. Mohd Iskandar 140, 2. Ahmad Fazrul 96, 3. Mohd Faiz Nawawi (SKF Enduro SCK Racing) 67, 4. Mohd Firdaus Jamil (MOS Ah Hong Yamaha) 66. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy