Selangor hammer MK Land in quest for 30th crown

SHAH ALAM: Newly crowned Premier League champions Selangor began their quest for their 30th Malaysia Cup title by thrashing MK Land 4-1 in a Group D match at the Shah Alam Stadium last night. 

It was the sixth meeting between the two sides this season but there was nothing MK Land could do to stop the awesome Red Giants' strike force which scored all four goals in the first half. 

Selangor, who last won the Malaysia Cup in 2002, were reduced to 10 men in the 76th minute after K. Sanbagamaran was sent off for a rough tackle. 

Indonesian ace striker Bambang Pamungkas opened the floodgates with a curling free kick which gave MK Land goalkeeper S. Shankar no chance in the 16th minute. 

LIBERIAN CHARGE: Perak’s Frank Seator (left) trying to go past Public Bank’s Luis Espindol in their Group D match at the Perak Stadium in Ipoh Saturday night. Perak won 1-0. --STARpic by ZABIDI TUSIN

It was Bambang's 30th goal in all competitions. In the Premier League Bambang managed 22 goals just one short of Golden Boot winner Marlon Alex James of MK Land. 

Last year's Golden Boot winner Brian Fuentes scored a brace in the 37th and 44th minutes while the other goal came from Khalid Jamlus in the 23rd minute. 

Athan Raj reduced the deficit for MK Land in the 85th minute. 

The hazy condition surrounding the stadium did not put a damper on the Selangor players who treated the 15,000 odd fans to a classy display of football. 

Indonesian winger Elie Aiboi was a constant menace in MK Land's half with his darting and penetrating runs which resulted in two of the goals scored by Selangor. 

MK Land's new signing Bhaichung Bhutia from India played in midfield but barely made his presence felt while striker Mario Mijotovic had only one good look at goal in the first half. 

Bhaichung was the replacement for sacked striker Marlon Alex James, who was the Golden Boot winner with 23 goals. 

The defeat was a bitter pill to swallow for MK Land as Selangor beat them to win promotion as winners of Group A in the Premier League. Then, they were dealt another blow by Selangor who send them out of the FA Cup in the second round. 

MK Land: S. Shankar, Azlan Shah Yahya (S. Saravanan), A. Ganeson, Mohd Fairuz Mohd Noor, Azni Ariffin (Shahrin Majid), Ooi Hoe Guan, Mohd Shawal Johadi, Mario Mijotovic (Azralan Azmi), Mijo Dadic, Bhaichung Bhutia, Athan Raj 

Selangor: Jamsari Sabian, Ahmad Tharmini Saiban, Nazrulerwan Makmor, Mohd Saifu Nizam Husin, Elie Aiboi (Nazzab Hidzan), Brian Fuentes, K. Sanbagamaran, D. Surendran, Bambang Pamungkas, Khalid Jamlus (Fairus Montana), Mohd Shukor Adan 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy