Yamaha’s Wazi cruises to victory in round two

KUANTAN: Wazi Abdul Hamid cruised to victory in the expert category in round two of the Petronas Spinta AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championships here yesterday. 

The Team Shell KF Yamaha rider completed the 12-lap race in 12:25.165 while his teammate, Shahrul Nizam Tajuddin, finished second (12:26.498) and Ahmad Fuad Baharudin of Team Eveready-Raceline (12:33.695) was third. 

Wazi, who started in second place on the grid, trailed Ahmad Fazli Sham from lap one until the final lap. 

However, Ahmad Fazli pushed too hard at the first corner of the last lap and crashed. 

Wazi took over the lead to romp home. Ahmad Fadzli eventually finished fourth. 

“I am really fortunate to have won this round. It was a tough fight in the first few laps as I was going all out to pressure Ahmad Fazli,” said Wazi, who was the 1996 champion. 

“But I decided to stay behind him and it worked in my favour when Fadzli crashed in the final lap.” 

After two rounds, Wazi leads the standings with 41 points, one point ahead of Shahrul.  

Norizman Ismail of SKF Enduro SCK Racing is third with 25 points. 

Meanwhile, Mohd Noorfakar Mohd Fuad of Team Petronas Sprinta Racing took the chequered flag for the novice’s category while Ahmad Fadzul Sham emerged as the WIRA EpG winner. 

The third round of the championships will be held at the Batu Kawan Stadium in Penang on May 8. 





1. Wazi Abdul Hamid (Shell Advance KF Yamaha) 12:25.165, 2. Shahrul Nizam Tajuddin (Shell Advance KF Yamaha) 12:26.498, 3. Ahmad Fuad Baharudin (Eveready-Raceline) 12:33.695, 4. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Shell Harian Metro Maju Motor) 12:34.108, 5. Zulhelmi Ahmad (MOS Ah Hong Yamaha) 12:38.501.  

Championships standings: 1. Wazi Abdul Hamid 41 pts; 2. Shahrul Nizam Tajuddin 40; 3. Norizman Ismail (SKF Enduro SCK Racing) 25; 4. K.Sivanesan (Shell Harian Metro Maju Motor) 21; 5. Zulhelmi Ahmad 21 points. 

Team standings: 1. Shell KF Yamaha 81pts, 2. Shell Harian Metro Maju Motor 34, 3. SKF Enduro SCK Racing 33, 4. MOS Ah Hong Yamaha 32, 5. Motul YY Pang 23. 


1. Mohd Noorfakar Mohd Fuad (Petronas Sprinta Racing) 13:22.245, 2. Mohd Noor Suhail Kamarudin (Total Elf Beng Racing) 13:24.236, 3. Zaiermanhady Zaifaizal (Hi-Rev Malaysia) 13:25.132, 4. Mohd Fadzlin Mohd Noor (Shell KF Yamaha) 13:29.252, 5. Mohd Azahar Ahmad (Hi-Rev Malaysia) 13:33.890. 

Championships standings: 1. Mohd Noorfakar Mohd Fuad 34pts, 2. Mohd Fadzlin Md Noor 33, 3. Zaiermanhady Zaifaizal 32, 4. Noor Suhail Kamarudin 31, 5. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Shell Harian Metro Maju Motor) 25. 


1. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Shell Harian Metro Maju Motor) 11:47.176, 2. Mohd Iskandar Raduan (Eveready-Raceline) 11:48:731, 3. Mohd Firdaus Jamil (MOS Ah Hong Yamaha) 11:56:061, 4. Razali Mohd Zin (SKF Enduro SCK Racing) 11:59:432, 5. Md Hafiz Sharudin (VPR Speed Pro T-Trax) 11:59:976.  

Championships standings: 1. Md Nazari Md Latiff (Shell Advance KF Yamaha) 35pts, 2. Mohd Firdaus Jamil 32, 3. Mohd Iskandar Raduan 29, 4. Sharul Basharuddin (Shell Advance KF Yamaha) 26, 5. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Shell Harian Metro Maju) 25. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy