Ravindran to miss Saudi trip due to groin injury

  • Other Sport
  • Thursday, 31 Mar 2005

KUALA LUMPUR: A groin injury has put sprinter S. Ravindran out of the inaugural Islamic Solidarity Games, which begin next Friday in Saudi Arabia. 

The 21-year-old Ravindran, who was down to compete in the 100m and 200m, suffered the injury in training last week. He is now undergoing treatment at the National Sports Institute in Bukit Jalil. 

The athletics team manager, Karim Ibrahim, said: “The injury is not serious but it's not wise to field him in the Islamic Games. We want him to recover fast to concentrate on qualifying for the Manila SEA Games (in November).” 

However, Ravindran's younger brother Narendran is in the 17-member athletics team for the Games. He will compete in the 100m and 200m. 

The 19-year-old Narendran, who is doing a matriculation course at the Bukit Jalil Sports School, said that he was not setting any target in the Games. 

“It will be my first international meet for the year and I will use it to gauge my performance,” said Narendran. 

“My priority this year is to qualify for the SEA Games. I have to train very hard to beat the qualifying mark in both 100m and 200m.” 

The qualifying mark for the 100m is 10.49 and it is 21.23 for the 200m. Narendran has a personal best of 10.66 and 21.34. 

The 17 athletes for the Islamic Games are now attending a motivational course in Genting Awana ahead of their departure to Mecca on Monday. 

Karim added that the stint in Genting Awana was also to get the athletes used to the chilly conditions expected in Taif, a high altitude area in Mecca, where the athletics competitions will be held. 


Manager: Karim Ibrahim. 

Coaches: Isnin Mahadi, Alim Ahmejanov, K. Jayabalan, A. Trapadi, Yuri Sonikov. 

Athletes: S. Narendran, Mohd Latif Nyat (100m, 200m), Mohd Zafril Mohd Zuslani (400m), Robani Hassan, Shinar Shazua Sharudin (110m hurdles), Mohd Zuraimi Abdul Rahman, Mohd Izwan Mohd Hishamuddin (400m hurdlers), M. Sasikumar (800m), Mohd Shahrulhaizy Abdul Rahman (20km walk), Mohd Shahrul Amri (long jauh), Mohd Firdaus Salim (triple jump), Ahmad Najwa Aqra Hassan, Syed Zamiluddin Syed Ahmad (high jump), Teh Weng Chang, Mohd Kamilrinizam (pole vault), Sazari Sahar, Mohd Ikhwan Nor (decathlon, triple jump). 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across the site