SMK Puchong Perdana to represent Selangor in Seremban

KUALA LUMPUR: Selangor, who failed to submit their entry for the MHF-Milo Champions Schools tournament last year, are back in the fray with SMK Puchong Perdana as their representatives in a 13-team competition, which will be played at the Seremban II Hockey Stadium from Dec 7-12. 

Perak’s Anderson School, who have won the title nine times, will again start as the favourites. The Ipoh side were champions from 1992 to 1996 and again from 2000 to 2003. 

They have been drawn in Group A with Penang Free School and Terengganu’s SMK Padang Midin. 

Last year’s runners-up SM Datuk Taha from Negri Sembilan head Group B while Malacca High School are the seeded team in Group C. Pahang’s SMK Seberang Temerloh head a four-team Group D. 

The top two teams from each group qualify for the quarter-finals and there will be no classification matches. 

Negri Sembilan HA secretary Anthony Dass said after the draw for the groups yesterday: “As usual, each team will receive RM3,000 from the sponsors. The semi-finalists will get an additional RM1,000 as incentive.” 


Group A: Anderson (Prk), Free School (Pen), Padang Midin (Ter). 

Group B: Datuk Taha (Nse), Armed Forces Apprentice Training School, Kuala Perlis.  

Group C: Malacca High School, Sultan Badlishah (Ked), Hamzah, Machang (Kel). 

Group D: Seberang Temerloh, Puchong Perdana (Sel), St John’s Institution (Kul), Sultan Abu Bakar College (Joh). 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy