Depleted Perak net two late goals to overcome PKNS


SELAYANG: A depleted Perak side scored twice in the last six minutes to confirm their place in the FA Cup final, with a 3-0 aggregate win over an equally barren PKNS at the Selayang Municipal Council Stadium here last night. 

Perak, the inaugural winners of the tournament in 1990, and PKNS were both missing key players and could not produce a goal until the 84th minute when Ahmad Shahrul Azhar struck. Keita Mandjou then added the second in injury time. 

Perak were without midfielder K. Nanthakumar, Argentine Ricardo Silva and strikers Liberian Frank Seator and Liew Kit Kong because of injuries. Argentine midfielder Luciano Goux, scorer of Perak's goal in the 1-0 win in the first leg, was out on suspension.  

PKNS, meanwhile, started without Rusdi Suparman, who was benched, and Slovakian striker Roman Chmelo. 

Both teams found it hard to create chances and Perak's first real opportunity only came three minutes before the breather when former national striker R. Surendren found the target from outside the penalty box. But PKNS goalkeeper Mohd Azrul Pie was quick to punch it away. 

Rusdi came on for the ineffective Khairul Anhar Taam 10 minutes into the second half but there was little he could do to raise the tempo of the game on the slippery surface. 

It was much the same story for Perak, with striker V. Saravanan coming in for Chan Wing Hoong 20 minutes into the second half and making no difference. 

Just when it looked like a goalless draw was imminent, Perak struck with Ahmad Shahrul booting home from 25m out in the 84th minute. 

Mandjou repeated the feat in injury time, scoring with another long range right-footed kick from 30m out. 

PKNS: Mohd Azrul Pie, Mohd Khairul Abu Zahar (Sairollizam Siedin), Mohd Latiff Mohd Taib (Azni Ariffin), Dominic Minsi, Roman Golian, Muhammad Sudir, Abdullah Sani Yusof, Khairul Anhar Taam (Rusdi Suparman), Anton Kubala, Roman Strba, Mohd Khairi Kandini. 

Perak: Mohd Hamsani Ahmad, Ahmad Azlan Zainal, K. Yoganathan (S. Sathia Kumaran), Asmawi Bakiri, Chan Wing Hoong (V. Saravanan), Syamsul Mohd Saad, Shahrulnizam Mustapa, Ahmad Shahrul Azhar, Keita Mandjou, R. Surendren, Mohd Khalid Jamlus. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy