Rosnizam steals the show

PETALING JAYA: Rosnizam Mohd Noor became the only privateer to take the chequered flag twice when he won the seventh round of the Petronas Sprinta AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championships in Kluang yesterday. 

The 27-year old rider showed that he was still up to the challenge not only on a racing circuit but also on a street track. 

Rosnizam, who was the winner at the Johor circuit, finished the 12-lap experts' class race in 9:30.738. 

Chia Tuck Cheong of Team Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor settled for second place in 9:31.899 while defending champion Shahrun Nizam Tamin finished in 9:35.831 to go on the podium for the first time this season. 

BUDDING TALENT:Winner Rosnizam Md Noor (centre)shares the podium with Chia Tuck Cheong(left) and Shahrun Nizam Tamin after the seventh leg of the Petronas Sprinta AAM Malaysian Club Championship in Kluang Sunday.

Rosnizam said: “It was part of my strategy to do well in the heats and start from pole position. I started well and went on to pull away from the chasing pack.” 

Championship leader K. Sivanesan finished seventh but retained his place at the top of the standings with 99 points. Tuck Cheong, who is making a bid to win the title for the third time, now trailed Sivanesan by nine points. 

Mohd Faisal Yahya kept his third spot with 75 points while Rosnizam moved up from sixth to fourth on 70 points. 

In the novices' category, Mohd Yusri Ibrahim’s hopes for a win to seal his first overall title in Kluang, were dashed. His bike had mechanical problems in the heats and he was forced to withdraw from the race. 

In his absence, Mohd Azwadi Darus earned his second chequered flag of the season, finishing the race in 10:94.750. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Team Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) and Noor Suhail Kamaruddin (Team Total Beng Racing) finished second and third respectively in 10:14.944 and 10:17.156. 

Azwadi of Team RB & BH Racing said: “I have been really blessed to win the race here as I never thought I could make. It’s a wonderful feeling. 

“Now I am in contention for the title and Kangar will be the deciding round for the crown. I have a month to prepare for the final leg. I am aiming for a top-two finish.” 

Azwadi has 113 points, just two points behind Yusri.  

In the Wira class, Ahmad Fazrul Sham stole the limelight to take his first chequered flag of the season. The 21-year old rider finished the race in 8:42.448. 

The final round in Kangar is on Oct 3. 




Experts: 1. Rosnizam Mohd Noor 9:30.738, 2. Chia Tuck Cheong (Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 9:31.899, 3. Shahrun Nizam Tamin (Shell Advance KF Yamaha) 9:35.831, 4. Mohd Suhadi Ali Rahmat (Petronas Sprinta Racing) 9:37.286, 5. Ahmad Fuad Baharudin (Eveready Raceline) 9:39.807. 

Novices: 1. Mohd Aswadi Darus (RB & BH Racing) 10:14.750, 2. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 10:14.944, 3. Noor Suhail Kamaruddin (Total Beng Racing) 10:17.156, 4. Mohd Hafizan Mohd 10:17.643, 5. Mohd Isham Salleh (YY Pang Yamaha) 10:21.637. 

Wira: 1. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 8:42.448, 2. Mohd Zaki Mohd Aziz (Top-N Racing) 8:48.104, 3. Mohd Iskandar Raduan (Eveready Raceline) 8:57.968, 4. Sharil Salleh (Top-N Racing) 8:58.287, 5. Mohd Rashid Abdul Razak 9:01.059. 


Experts: 1. K. Sivanesan (Team Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 99, 2. Tuck Cheong 90, 3. Mohd Faisal Yahya (MOS Ah Hong Yamaha) 75, 4. Rosnizam 70, 5. Shahrun Nizam 53. 

Novices: 1. Mohd Yusri Ibrahim (Shell Advance KF Yamaha) 115, 2. Mohd Aswadi 113, 3. Nuzul Fadzli (Hi-Rev Malaysia) 55, 4. Eddy Ezli Hisham (Hi-Rev Malaysia) 50, 5. Ahmad Fazli 40. 

Wira: 1. Ahmad Fazrul 101, 2. Mohd Zaki 99, 3. Mohd Zamri Baba (Mos Ah Hong Yamaha) 94, 4. Azlan Shah Kamarusaman (Mos Ah Hong Yamaha) 91, 5. Mohd Nur Rafiqque (SCK Racing) 63. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy