Tuck Cheong grabs second win of the season

SEPANG: Former expert category champion Chia Tuck Cheong took his second chequered flag of the season when he won Round Five of the Petronas Sprinta AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championships held at the Sepang F1 International Circuit yesterday. 

The Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor rider who won the title in 1997 and 2001, completed the 10-lap race in a total time of 13:08.365. 

In second place was Mohd Faisal Yahya of Team MOS Ah Hong Yamaha (13:13.716) while his teammate Safrizan Buang finished third (13:13.877). 

Tuck Cheong who won in Kuantan (Round Two) started third on the grid but surged ahead at the first corner. 

He managed to stave off challenges from early favourites Wazi Abdul Hamid, Mohd Faisal Yahya, and K. Sivanesan to eventually win the leg. 

“It was a tough race, especially in the first seven laps as Wazi was pressuring me from behind. Wazi was riding extremely well and gave me a hard time but he was unlucky as he had a mechanical failure in Lap 7 which put him out fo the race. Otherwise it would have been a neck-and-neck race,” said Tuck Cheong. 

Sivanesan, who finished fourth yesterday, retains the lead in the overall championship standings with 83 points from five races with Mohd Faisal is11 points behind in second place and Tuck Cheong is third, a further two points adrift. Round Six will be held in Batu Kawan on Aug 1. 


Expert:1. Chia Tuck Cheong (Team Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 13:08.365, 2. Mohd Faisal Yahya (Team MOS AH Hong Yamaha) 13:13.716, 3. Safrizan Buang (Team MOS AH Hong Yamaha) 13:13.877, 4. K. Sivanesan (Team Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 13:18.256, 5. Abdul Halim Zahid (SCK Racing) 13:21.955. 

Novice: 1. Mohd Yusri Ibrahim (Shell Advance KF Yamaha) 13:48.083, 2. Mohd Aswadi Darus (Team RB & BH Racing) 13:55.684, 3. Mohd Noorfakar Mohd Fuad (Petronas Sprinta Racing) 14:02.631, 4. Mohd Zanardi Azahar (RB & BH Racing) 14:09.645, 5. Nuzul Fadzli Mohd Noor (Hi-Rev Malaysia) 14:10.543. 


1. Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (Team MOS Ah Hong Yamaha) 12:10.730, 2. Mohd Zaki Mohd Aziz (Top-N Racing) 12:10.735, 3. Sharil Salleh (Top-N Racing) 12:15.514, 4. Mohd Zamri Baba (Team MOS Ah Hong Yamaha) 12:15.514, 5. Mohd Adli Salihin 12.15.941.  

Overall championships standings 

Expert: 1. Sivanesan 83 points, 2. Mohd Faisal 72, 3. Tuck Cheong 70; 4. Shahrul Nizam Tajuddin (Shell Advance KF Yamaha) 45, 5. Shahrun Nizam Tamin (Shell Advance KF Yamaha) 39. 

Novice: 1. Mohd Yusri Ibrahim 95 points, 2. Mohd Aswadi Darus 63, 3. Nuzul Fadzli 55, 4. Eddy Ezli Hisham (Hi-Rev Malaysia) 37, 5. Mohd Subri Hamid (Hi-Rev Malaysia ) 32. 

Wira: 1.Mohd Zamri Baba 74 points, 2. Mohd Zaki Mohd Aziz 70, 3. Azlan Shah Kamarusaman 66, 4. Ahmad Fazrul Shah (Team Shell Advance Harian Metro Maju Motor) 65, 5. Mohd Nur Rafiqque (SCK Racing) 50. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy