Tampa Bay Lightning win first Stanley Cup

Tampa Bay Lightning captain Dave Andreychuk holds aloft th e Stanley Cup after they defeated the Calgary Flames 2-1 to win the National Hockey League championship in Tampa on Monday. -- Reuterspic

TAMPA: The Tampa Bay Lightning edged the Calgary Flames 2-1 in the decisive game seven of the National Hockey League (NHL) Playoff Finals on Monday to win the treasured Stanley Cup for the first time in their 12-year franchise history. 

The young, resilient Tampa Bay team held off an all-out assault by Calgary in the dying minutes to win the “all or nothing” game and the best-of-seven series 4-3 in front of 22,217 home fans at the St Pete Times Forum.  

Ruslan Fedotenko scored both goals for the Lightning, including the key opening goal of the game at 13:31 of the first period. The Ukrainian forward made it 2-0 with a little over five minutes left in the second. 

Calgary, the 1989 Stanley Cup champions whose last playoff appearance was back in 1996, rallied with a Craig Conroy power play goal midway through the third, but the Lightning staved off the attack with sharp goal-tending by Nikolai Khabibulin. 

Brad Richards, who recorded 12 goals including seven game winners in Lightning’s post-season run, was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy for the playoff’s Most Valuable Player (MVP). – dpa 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy