Pahang Sultan and Hamzah honoured for their achievements

  • Other Sport
  • Sunday, 09 May 2004

KUALA LUMPUR: Former Asian Football Confederation (AFC) presidents Sultan Ahmad Shah and Tan Sri Hamzah Haji Abu Samah were honoured for their achievements during the AFC 50th anniversary celebrations gala dinner here yesterday. 

Hamzah headed AFC from 1978-1994 while Sultan Ahmad Shah was the president from 1994-2002. 

FIFA President Sepp Blatter, FIFA World Cup 2006 Organising Committee Chairman Franz Beckenbauer and former Asian Footballer of the Year Ali Daei all attended the event. 

Current AFC president Mohamed Hammam also presented awards to the twelve founding members who formed AFC in 1954 – Afghanistan, Myanmar, China, Hong Kong, India, Vietnam, Pakistan, Indonesia, Korea Republic, Japan, Philippines and Singapore.  

Meanwhile, three Malaysian football officials were among 10 people awarded the 10-year Distinguished Service Awards for their outstanding contributions and services to Asian football. 

The three are Dr Gurcharan Singh, chairman of the AFC medical committee, R. Indran, AFC director of security and Francis Ch'ng, AFC director of finance. 

The AFC congress also passed the following resolutions: 

·the next congress will be held in 2007 and thereafter the congress will be held every two years instead of four 

·the current office term of the executive committee has been extended for a further one year to 2007 

·AFC has also proposed to conform with a FIFA proposal that the election of the president not be held in World Cup years. 

The congress has also decided to unanimously re-elect Mohamed Hammam, AFC president as FIFA executive committee member. 

A new website official AFC website – - was also launched during the congress. 

The website will be available in three languages – English, Arabic and Chinese. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across the site