Khadijah happy despite loss in step-ladder finals

PETALING JAYA: Youngster Siti Khadijah Osman continued to make heads turn on the final day of the Malaysian Open bowling championships yesterday when she qualified for the step-ladder finals of the Masters event at the Pyramid Mega Lanes.  

But her inexperience showed in the knock-out match against some of the Asian top bowlers and she had to settle for third place. It was only the 19-year-old Khadijah’s first Open tournament. 

Despite the loss in the step-ladder, Khadijah was a happy girl. “This is my best ever achievement. I never thought I would be able to achieve this. It is a great experience for me to bowl alongside Malaysia’s top bowlers and some of the top bowlers from the world,” said the bowler, who was dropped from the national junior squad last year. 

In the step-ladder Finals yesterday, she scored 3,231 pins over 16 games to finish third behind leader Shalin Zulkifli and Taiwanese Wang Yu-ling. She managed 203 pins in the second match of the step-ladder finals but it was not good enough to beat Yu-ling’s 234 pins. 

She will now appear in her first ever ABF Tour, starting today at the Pyramid Mega Lanes. 

“The Malaysian Open has given me the confidence. I will continue to work on my game. I have another chance to play alongside the top bowlers. I will give it my best shot,” said Khadijah. 

Besides Khadijah, two other bowlers will also make their debut in the Tour. They are Malaysian Tenpin Bowling Congress (MTBC) 2010 programme trainee Sharon Koh and new national recruit Mohd Noer Said of Sabah. 

The others representing Malaysia in the new Tour are familiar faces Daniel Lim, Azidi Ameran, Mustaffa Yassin, Shalin, Sarah Yap, Low Poh Lian and Wendy Chai. 

Only the top 16 men and top 16 women of the Malaysian Open get to compete in the first leg of the Tour. The first round and quarter-final matches will start today. It will be followed by the semi-finals and final tomorrow. 


TODAY (Malaysian national bowlers unless stated) 

MEN First round: Daniel Lim vs Ahmed Shaheen (Qat), Khalifa Al-Kubaisi (Qat) vs Wu Siu Hong (Hkg), Mohd Noer Said vs Sultan Al Marzouqi (UAE), Azidi Ameran vs Lim Zhong (Sin), Cheng Chao-sheng (Tpe) vs Ryan Lalisang (Ina), Mubarak Murkhi (Qat) vs Cheng Fan-yu (Tpe), Chester King (Phi) vs Mustaffa Yassin (Sel), Biboy Rivera (Phi) vs Kao Hai-yuan (Tpe)  

WOMEN First round: Shalin Zulkifli vs Jennifer Tan (Sin), Tsai Hsin-yi (Tpe) vs Alice Tay (Sin), Lian Ya-ping (Tpe) vs Sarah Yap, Chu Yu-chieh (Tpe) vs Chien Hsiu-lan (Tpe), Siti Khadijah Osman (Sel) vs Sharon Koh, Low Poh Lian (Sel) vs Pan Yu-fen (Tpe), Putty Armein (Ina) vs Happy Soediyono (Ina), Wendy Chai vs Wang Yu-ling (Tpe). 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy