Khadijah springs surprise in Open Masters Finals


PETALING JAYA: Malaysian youngster Siti Khadijah Osman provided the biggest surprise after the first block of eight games in the women’s Open Masters Finals of the Malaysian Open bowling championships at the Pyramid Mega Lanes here yesterday. 

The 18-year-old Khadijah, who is training under former international Kenny Ang, outshone the national trainees and a number of world-class bowlers to grab second spot with a 1,687 total. 

Taiwan’s Chien Hsiu-lan accumulated 1,707 pins to lead the 33-bowler field. England’s Zara Glover, a triple gold medallist at last year’s World Championships, knocked down 1,643 for third spot. 

Malaysian number one Shalin Zulkifli and compatriot Wendy Chai kept alive their title hopes with a joint sixth placing with a 1,601 total. 

AZIDI AMERAN: In fourth place with a 1,709 total.

Shalin, who was the runner-up last year, said: “I did not perform well today. The lane conditions were tough. My target is to finish among the top three and I will be out to put up a stronger performance tomorrow (today).” 

Defending champion Liza Del Rosario of the Philippines and American Diandra Asbaty, the winner of the Masters title at the World Championships, also struggled to find their lines. Liza could only manage 18th spot with a 1,525 total while Asbaty amassed 1,519 for 19th place. 

Only the top six men and top six women after another eight games today qualify for the stepladder finals. 

In the men’s Open Masters, Sultan Al-Marzouqi of the United Arab Emirates grabbed the lead with a 1,755 total in the eight-game series ahead of Malaysia’s Daniel Lim, who shot down 1,738 pins. 

Singapore’s Lim Zhong accumulated 1,721 pins for third spot ahead of defending champion Azidi Ameran of Malaysia. Azidi rolled down 1,709 pins for fourth spot. 

RESULTS (National bowlers unless stated) 

Open Masters Finals  

First block of eight games (top 10 only)  

Men: 1. Sultan Al Marzouqi (Uae) 1755, 2. Daniel Lim 1738, 3. Lim Zhong (Sin) 1721, 4. Azidi Ameran 1709, 5. Kao Hai-yuan (Tpe) 1703, 6. Kim Haugen (Nor) 1700, 7. Mustaffa Yassin (Sel) 1691, 8. Wu Siu Hong (Hkg) 1678, 9. Cheng Chao-sheng (Tpe) 1657, 10. Biboy Rivera (Phi) 1654. (Selected: 13. Zulmazran Zulkilfi 1644, 14. Mohd Noer Said 1643, 18. Eric Ang (Prk) 1624, 21. F. J. Lim (Pah) 1613, 22. Aaron Kong 1612, 23. Adrian Ang 1604, 26. Alex Liew 1576, 27. Ben Heng 1578, 29. Jonathan Lim 1569, 32. Mohd Nadri Mohd Noor 1559).  

Women: 1. Chien Hsiu-lan (Tpe) 1707, 2. Siti Khadijah Osman (Sel) 1687, 3. Zara Glover (Eng) 1643, 4. Tsai Hsin-yi (Tpe) 1617, 5. Wang Yu-ling (Tpe) 1616, 6. Shalin Zulkifli 1601 and Wendy Chai 1601, 8. Alice Tay (Sin) and Happy Soediyono (Ina) 1589, 10. Low Poh Lian (Sel) 1576. (Selected: 13. Sharon Koh (Sel) 1551, 17. Zandra Aziela 1529, 21. Sarah Yap 1510, 22. Esther Cheah 1507, 24. Christyn Chew (Sel) 1493, 27. Tang Joh Six 1448, 30. Choy Poh Lai 1371, 33. Voon Kim Ling 1347). 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy