Little-known Swede Pettersson takes lead


PALM BEACH GARDENS (Florida): Little known Swede Carl Pettersson fired a four-under 68 on Friday to open a three-shot lead over over Americans Brad Faxon and Todd Hamilton after the second round of the Honda Classic. 

In his second year on tour, Pettersson completed 36 holes at 13-under 131 at the Country Club of Mirasol. In six previous starts this year, he finished no better than 24th. 

The 26-year-old North Carolina resident had an impressive performance as a rookie, finishing second behind Tiger Woods at the Buick Invitational. 

“I'm glad I carried on from yesterday and felt like I played nearly just as good as yesterday,” said Pettersson, who set a course record Thursday with a 63. “Didn't make as many putts, but felt really good.” 

Another Swede, Fredrik Jacobsen, is alone in fourth place at 136, two shots ahead of a group of nine players that includes Sweden's Jesper Parnevik. 

“I'm hitting really good iron shots right now,” Pettersson said. “The way the course is set up, if you do miss a drive here and there, the rough is not that penal. So you can still have a good shot at the green.” 

Australian Greg Norman was disqualified because of a rules violation during the second round. 

Norman, a two-time British Open champion, was playing the par-four 13th hole and thought he had hit his tee shot in the water hazard that borders the right side of the hole. Believing he had driven into the hazard, Norman hit a provisional ball that found the fairway. 

Once Norman had reached the fairway, he found his first ball in a bunker near the hazard and played that ball to the hole in violation of rule 27-a/2 of the Rules of Golf, “provisional ball played solely in belief original ball might be in water hazard”. 

The infraction was brought to Norman's attention by a television reporter but the Australian continued to play his first ball, making a bogey on the hole. 

Norman was then met by PGA Tour officials, who gave him the option of going back and playing the second tee shot with a two-shot penalty for hitting the improper ball. 

Norman declined and declared himself out of the tournament as a disqualification. He declined to meet with reporters after his round. – Agencies  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights
   

Stories You'll Enjoy


Vouchers