Selangor emerge as overall champs in taekwondo tourney

SHAH ALAM: Selangor Taekwondo Association (STA) emerged as the overall champions in the Eighth MTA-Magnum National Inter-Club Championships at the Malawati Indoor Stadium here yesterday with a total haul of nine gold medals. 

They also won six silvers and 10 bronzes to finish ahead of Sarawak TKD Federation (4-0-5) and the Armed Forces (2-3-3). 

In the two-day championships, Peter Lee (featherweight) and S. Mahendraraj (middleweight) contributed the gold medals to take the STA's tally to nine. 

The championships were marred by the lack of medical facilities. 

Universal Martial Art TKD Academy's S. Devraj was knocked unconscious by Mahendraraj in the semi-finals but received only limited attention from the inexperienced medical personnel. 

There was only one ambulance available and it was being used to send another exponent, who had suffered an injury earlier, to the Klang General Hospital. Devraj was only sent to the hospital 30 minutes later. 


  • MEN 


  • 1. Yong Chin Hwa (Per TKD Joh), 2. M. Suthan (STA), 3. Najib Ali Mohd Farook (Gemilang TKD Terengganu ) and Koo Chin Yoke (Per TKD Joh). 

    Feather: 1. Peter Lee (Sarawak TKD Fed), 2. Syahidan Nayan (For), 3. Abdul Rahman Abdullah (For) and Mohd Ridzuan (Warisan TKD Academy). 

    Fin: 1. Diang Danielfitri Mohd Dolah (KL TKD Centre), 2. Mohd Zaki Sarbudin (Gemilang TKD Terengganu), 3. Mohd Rocky Haizap Hazieman (Per TKD Kelantan) and Aik Isom (MATSA KL). 

    Fly: 1. Kumaran (Penang United TKD Society), 2. M. Kogilavanan (Taerobics TKD Academy Joh), 3. Azrul Nizam Ahmad (TYC) and Mohd Dzul Azreen Mohd Zahir (Pertubuhan TKD Bersatu Kedah). 

    Welter: 1. Zamberi Ibrahim (For), 2. Tan Ee Seng (STA), 3. R. Kavivarmaraj (STA) and Lanchang Rekan (For). 

    Bantam: 1. Abdul Hemi Mohd (STA), 2. Mohd Fared Mohd Kassim (For), 3. Jackson Lee (Sarawak TKD Fed) and K. Thuraisingam (STA). 

    Middle: 1. S. Mahendraraj (STA), 2. Norizam Tahir (For), 3. Gobiraj (Penang United TKD Society) and S. Devraj (Universal Martial Art- TKD Academy).  

    Heavy: 1. Zainal Abbas Mohd Salleh (For), 2. Muhd Fazmi Nuarzami (STA), 3. Anuar Ahmad (For) and R. Thilakesan (STA). 

    n WOMEN 

    Feather: 1. Maszuin Mohd (STA), 2. Soyah Nordin (Dynamic TKD), 3. Sarah Ahmad Sabri (TYC) and Azura Ahmad (Taerobics TKD Academy). 

    Fin: 1. Claudia Wee (Sarawak TKD Fed), 2. Normasyirah Zahari (Koryo TKD Academy), 3. Rahyu Nofita Afrison (STA)/ and Noorhazreen Azman (TYC). 

    Fly: 1. Masthura Zabir (STA), 2. Denashinee (Penang United TKD Society). 

    Welter: 1. Aniza Ameer Hussain (Penang United TKD Society), 2. Le Choi Ln (Matsa KL). 

    Bantam: 1. Izwyn Zulkapri (Per TKD Johor), 2. Nurhaliza Abdul Rahman (STA), 3. Josephinna Kung (United Sabah TKD Association) and Mariana Jusoh (MATSA). 

    Heavy: 1. Hazlinda (Penang United TKD Society), 2. Zaidatul Sazra Ishak (STA), 3. Aimihida Abdul Razak (STA). 

    Article type: metered
    User Type: anonymous web
    User Status:
    Campaign ID: 1
    Cxense type: free
    User access status: 3

    Stories You'll Enjoy